We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of East Ender

East Ender
Reserve with OpenTable
East Ender is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: India Street
Description: The East Ender offers new American food with bold New England flavors. Chefs Karl Deuben and Bill Leavy . We source products from local farmers and purveyors. Quality local ingredients allow East Ender to create a menu from scratch and present it in an approachable and affordable way. Seriously good food in a seriously casual environment. A neighborhood meeting place to enjoy house cocktails, craft-beers, and wine that caters to the cuisine. Our menu offers seasonal snacks, salads, sandwiches, entrees and desserts.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We popped in here while waiting for a table at Duckfat, and asked the bartender to pick her favorite appetizer and surprise us. We are so glad we did! I'm not even sure of the name, but they were 2 savory biscuit-type things with veggies and prosciutto...OMG - they were glorious! The place has an excellent vibe and great looking menu. Next time we'd skip Duckfat and go straight to East Ender!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    73
    27
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Prize in Portland”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I are avid foodies and love to try new places and were pleasantly surprised by the East Ender! There were people lined up for the "place next door" and we had just finished running a 5K so were starving and ducked into the East Ender. We were greeted by the hostess/bartender who was very attentive and quickly brought us the local brews we so deserved after running the race. The beer was crisp and cold and the menu had a unique twist on old favorites and innovative dishes. The chicken and waffles were not clunky fast food, but layered flavors that beyond pleased my Southern husband who declared that the best fried chicken he has ever had. The burger on the brioche bun with horseradish sauce, sharp cheddar, and some unknown delicious goodness I couldn't quite determine literally melted in my mouth. The atmosphere is perfect for lunch with the family, happy hour, or date night (we know: we've been there for all three). LOVE this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came here trying to please a fussy family group. The menu has a broad choice of options with some standouts including the broccoli fritters and the ribs. On the down side, some of the safe-sounding options were "too interesting" like the mac and cheese with smoky gouda. Wait staff was brusque, maybe from too many trips up the stairs from the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy and delicious”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were just in Portland for one night and looking for a place for dinner that was casual, yet had some of the Portland charm and foodie appeal we had heard about. The service was excellent, they had a great selection of local beers, and the atmosphere was cozy with exposed brick walls, outdoor seating, and nice wood tables. We started with the lobster nachos because, after all, we were in Maine. They were quite good. I had the Hanger Steak with bacon bourbon butter, salt and vinegar fries, and rainbow chard. The steak was cooked perfectly, the fries were the ideal fry (and fries are my favorite food) -- thin, crispy and salty -- and the chard was my daughter's favorite. She had the pepperoni, tomato, fresh mozzarella, and pesto pizza and my husband had the Montreal brisket over polenta. He found the brisket a bit too spicy for his taste buds but overall everything was good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
205 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Only Good”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

After walking around the downtown area we decided on this place based on the menu and the decor. We were seated upstairs by a window which was nice but the service, while efficient enough, was not very friendly. Appeared that you needed to be a regular to get the best service. The food was pretty good, we enjoyed the lobster nachos and the brisket entree. No big issues either positive or negative but I will probably try another restaurant the next time I am in Portland.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PointAfter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Ender also viewed

 

Been to East Ender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing