We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

The hotel is perfect for parking the car & seeing the Old Port on foot.
Clean & comfortable rooms. Check out the Spa - there is a nice sauna/steam room for guests to use. The shower facilities in the locker rooms were nicer than that in our room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    287
    98
    43
    23
See reviews for
118
486
38
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Regency. One thing to watch out for - they originally gave us a room on the 4th floor (which I was excited about because it was the top floor). The room had no windows!! There was one small skylight but that was it. Fortunately we called downstairs and they gave us a room with proper windows.

The gym at the hotel is great. One of the best I've seen in terms of hotel gyms.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KManNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We always try to stay in one of the Historic Hotels of America when we travel to a new city. We stayed at the Portland Regency Hotel during our recent trip to Portland. The hotel is right in the center of the historic Old Port. It’s one of the best historic hotel we’ve ever stayed in.
We boosted for the Junior Suite: a little spendier, but we loved the expansiveness of the room and the skylights.
To a man or woman, every employee there was friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The level of service was attention-getting (where else does staff fill up your ice bucket at turndown?!)
I loved getting up at 6 a.m., hitting the fitness center (the best equipped center within a hotel I’ve come across), grabbing the complimentary coffee in the lounge afterwards, and going to sit and sip on one of the benches in their front plaza. It was glorious to cool off in the sea breezes that always seem to be blowing. After that, it was a quick shower and off to frolic in Old Port.
I won’t try to enumerate the attractions of architecture, art or history in Portland. I had a guide book game plan for our five days. Be sure to take in the Shipyard Brewery tour. It’s a hoot.
At the hotel, I’d highly recommend the outdoor patio for light meals: cool and casual. (We went face down in fresh seafood every night).
The Armory Lounge is a great retreat for drinks after a day of the tourist trekking. (Try the Blueberry Mojito. It’s killer).
Our only bust was the whale watch...proof that Nature doesn’t take reservations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperMidwestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

The Regency is yet to disappoint. Our second trip to the old port, this time with another couple, was great. The Regency again had very comfortable rooms, turn down service at night, and plenty spacious. The food is amazing both dinner and especially breakfast. The location is fantastic, walking distance to great food and bars, plenty of oppurtunity in the old port to have a great time at night. We have recomended it to many friends visiting the Old Port, all to return thanking us for a great place. The regency covers all the bases; romantic, relaxing, fine dining, and the oppurtunity to let loose at surronding bars. They have us and our friends as guests every year for a long time to come.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The Regency is located in an traditional brick stone building in the historic part. The location is very good (just a few steps away from the harbour). The rooms are in the typical american hotel style so nothing special and trendy but to spend a night there they are ok and they are clean. It would fit a family with 2 kids. Unfortunately our room had window only in the roof so there was not a lot of light in the room. The service is very friendly. If you are looking for a light breakfast do not eat it in the hotel (it is a huge american breakfast and it is not possible to take a simple cafe and one bagel) but go to the nice little cafe just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEALO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

I have been staying here, off and on, for 9 years and it remains one of my favourite hotels.
Standards have remained high since my last visit and the addition of the outdoor area in front of the main entrance is a real plus on warm summer days like we had when we stayed there over 16th/19th July weekend. Staff are unfailingly excellent and if the breakfast cook goes suddenly sick the management will pitch in, roll up their sleeves, and scramble your breakfast eggs for you!!!

As a constant business traveller this is an hotel I returned to for a leisure trip with my partner, who was experiencing it for the first time, and I did so with a happy smile and a confidence that was not disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

We arrived in Portland on our third honeymoon from Australia, and couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel. The Regency is small and friendly, in a beautiful old building that was once the Armory. Very well located, in the middle of town, with a new outdoor dining area which is delightful. Rooms were great. A hint: ask for a room on the second , third or fourth floor. Some on the lower level are partly below street level. Loved our stay, and greatly enjoyed walking Portland.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahlenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Property: Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Address: 20 Milk Street, Portland, ME 04101
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing