We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit deceptive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit deceptive”
Reviewed August 5, 2008

The Portland Regency looks good on paper but what they don't tell you is the problem. We booked a room with two double beds at a cost of near $300 per night. For that price in Maine we expected a great hotel room. The room had no windows!!! It had some kind of skilight you could pull. When we asked to move rooms, the only "available" room with a window had a queen bed and it was tiny and smelled funny. But it had a window. They did not offer to do anything, no rate reduction, no nothing. We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    302
    101
    45
    24
See reviews for
126
511
39
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Arrived in the pouring rain- expected to be able to unload thecar under a protective covering. In the absence of this, we expected the bellman to offer the protective covering of an umbrella. But no, the bellman just stood there, expecting us (???) to unload the car. When asked for an umbrella, he said that all were given out. Not true as when we checked in, an umbrella was offered to us.
Our room, at street level, was dark with worn furniture. Walls were thin- easily heard other guests in the hall. The noisy pipes gave the impression that there was a water leak in the room.
We asked for a box of Kleenex- it arrived two hours later!
If this hotel is the best that Portland can offer, we are not returning to this city.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank montrealtravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We stayed for one night in July. There were lots of cars in the circle in front of the hotel at check-in, but no visible valet. Finally, one overworked valet appeared. Same story at check-out. You had to work hard to get the car back. Also, one person at the check-in desk to handle the line. I had asked for a room with a window, but none were available - even though I was willing to wait till later in the day for a room.
I found our room small, dark, and dreary. Everything was old. THe beds and TV's were old. The doors even had locks with metal keys. The hotel put shampoo and soap dispensers in the showers - not the typical bath products that you see in even just ok hotels.
On the plus, it was very clean and very well located. Easy walk to everything. There was a computer with internet in the lobby available to guests. Overall, I have enjoyed many less expensive hotels much more than this.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — old small rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We only stayed one night here, and we wish we could have stayed longer! The room was spacious and comfortable. The linens were very nice, and the bed/pillows very comfortable. The windows were right on sidewalk level, and we worried that the room might be noisy, but we didn't hear a thing because the windows appear to have multiple layers.

The building has a interesting history - it used to be an armory. And in response to a previous reviwer.... and because it wasn't built as a hotel, the layout is a little quirky and has lots of in's and out's to check out. If you're looking for a boring plain ol layout, this isn't the place. If you're looking for character and upscale service, stay here.

We had some cocktails in the lounge, which was dark, cool, and comfortable. We then went upstairs and had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant - excellent service, excellent food. Afterwards, we took a leisurely walk around the area, checking out some shop windows and people watching. We ended up buying icecream at ColdStone Cremery. Delicious!

Also - in response to a previous reviewer complaining about the valet-only parking....um hello!!! Portland is a CITY!! parking is always challening in cities! If you don't like the idea of valet parking, there are public lots very close by. It's really not a big deal. Also - you can arrange with the hotel for a ride to the Amtrak train station, (probably only about a 5 minute drive) which worked very well for us the morning we had to leave.

We didn't have time, but it would have been great to indulge at the spa, it looked relaxing and luxurious! We really had a nice time at the Portland Regency and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable room, great staff
  • Disliked — Liked everything, great hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage, ak
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This was booked by our sister, as a gift for our honeymoon. we had an interesting time finding the entrance, but valet service was swift and helpful when we did. check in was fast. we had a gift from our siblings waiting for us, wine, cheese, and fruit. and another plate of cookies with a nice note from the hotel.
we had an amazing bathroom with jacuzzi tub, and roomy shower, plush towels. the room was big, with an awkward window by the floor looking over the street. you can tell it is an old building with everything fit in like a puzzle. i slept like a rock with perfect pillows and black out shades of the window.
we did not take advantage of the restaurant or spa.

  • Liked — the nice bathroom
  • Disliked — hard to find entrance when driving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elizaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed for one night. Within walking distance to everything in the Old Port area. When we originally booked, we requested a room with a window (after reading Trip Advisor reviews about some of the rooms not having windows), but they wouldn't guarantee one. My husband called back and bluntly stated that "if we arrive and there isn't a window in our room, we will leave", and then the reservations people were more willing to ensure a window room.
The room was spacious, the bathroom generous size too. We thought the king bed was very comfortable, and no complaints here about the pillows. The rooms look out on the side streets, so they were very quiet. (Did hear someone talking loudly in the hallway when we were trying to sleep though.)
The hotel was a little expensive ($249 per night for a Saturday), but we did make our reservations late in the planning process, and the less expensive hotels in Old port were already full.
They did have internet access & a computer in one of the common rooms, so we could do on-line check in with the airline.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — expensive valet parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rockystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Stayed there for a few days in May. Dont get me wrong, it's great location in Old Port - walking distance to the best restaurants and nightlife, but service was horrendous.
Front desk girls ignored walk- in customers, valet was "too busy" to drive a shuttle and took 30 inutes to get a bowl of oatmeal.
By far most uncomfortable beds and pillows - in a suite!!!
Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ym2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Property: Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing