We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is situated pretty much in the centre of town, just a short walk to the shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is in a charming and sensitively restored building. The communal areas are pleasant, clean and nicely decorated.

The rooms are a good size and have a very nice bathroom with a large shower, the bed was also very comfortable.

Throughout our stay the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

A very good hotel, if you are visiting Portland, look no further I doubt you will find better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattP1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 974 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked one of the renovated rooms on the top floor with an out door patio. It did not disappoint but exceeded expectations. The room was clean and spacious, we could see the harbor, two blocks away and relax on the patio and watch the scene below. Service was five star and the staff was friendly and helpful. Visit the bar for a cocktail or late night snack, the ambience is terrific and there was a Jazz trio there on Wednesday night. The location could not have been better. It is a short walk to everything in the port section of the city and the staff readily recommends their favorite places. We will return and when we do we will book a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor with patios are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rvs527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have been the guests of the Portland Regency for a number of years now and, obviously, we like it. This summer we booked a suite on the top floor that was renovated this past winter. WHAT A DELIGHTFUL EXPERIENCE. While the regular rooms are magnificent, the Governor's Suite was fantastic beyond comparison. The Regency staff from the bellman to the general manager are personable, knowagleable, and efficient. The food and drink are four plus stars. After the Regency, anything else would be second class.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent three days there during the heat wave of July. Excellent location close to everything, sights, restuarants, stores and the wharf. Room was real nice, very quiet even on the street side. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. My bride used the fitness room and the equipment is real good, a little too much equipment. Did not eat at the hotel restuarant because so many good ones in the area. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for on not on the street (inside room on second floor and not close to elevator or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at the Regency on a family vacation late August, 2013. The hotel has a superb location, undoubtedly the best for walking around- everything was close by. Service was excellent, including the two way complementary transport from area restaurants that was much appreciated. All requests was handled with a smile and quickly. The morning tea/coffee service included in the rate was also great.
Why not 5 stars? Our room was smallish, but well done, and the bathroom, although small, had been nicely renovated, yet the ceiling was uncomfortably low, the shower lighting was inadequate and the soap/shampoo dispensers in the shower reminded me of the gym. For the $300 + per night we paid per room, I felt the overall look and feel of the hotel did not quite merit the tariff, but given the uniformly excellent service, it was very close. So I rate the Regency 4.5 stars.

Thanks very much to the wonderful staff who really do a great job.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the most expensive hotel of our New England trip and we were looking for something special. We were unlucky to coincide with a wedding party and the staff were all a bit distracted, butthe room was really nothing special - bit small, low ceiling. The spa is very good and available to all guests. Receptionist there had a bit more time for us. Would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spoons m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We decided to spend a couple of nights in Portland to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We only live about an hour away, but rarely spend more than a few hours at a time in Portland, and we always leave wanting more. Two nights is enough to scratch the surface -- and have a wonderful time doing it.
Booked the room online for a good internet-only rate, about 10 days before arrival. The desk staff greeted us warmly, immediately wishing us a happy anniversary, and said they'd upgraded us to a suite for our special occasion. The room (not really a suite) was huge, on a corner at the front of the building, complete with a turret. The ceiling was about 12 feet high, and one wall was mostly a brick fireplace. Between the bath and the room, there were 7 windows, all looking at the front courtyard and/or the tree-lined side street. The amenities are nice, with a good-sized fridge with tiny freezer with an ice cube tray, free internet, IPod/IPhone docking station, lighted makeup mirror, umbrella, robes. The bath was huge, too, all done in marble, with a soaking tub/Jacuzzi and a big shower with 4 separate showerheads.
My husband liked the 4-poster king-sized bed, I didn't find it very comfortable. Plenty of pillows, separate reading lights.
The turret area is lined with window seats and has a nice round table. There were 2 upholstered side chairs. The décor was tasteful and quiet. We were shielded from any corridor noise because we were tucked away in a corner, down a little hallway.
We didn't have a lot of interaction with the staff, but they were very polite and quick to respond. They had left a nice card in the room to welcome us and offer congratulations.
Didn't use the spa, except for the steam bath, which was good once it started working.
The hotel's location is really ideal.
Check their website for internet-only deals; you won't find better prices than those in downtown Portland.
We truly enjoyed our stay and will stay again - before another milestone anniversary!

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a corner room, they're out of the main traffic flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenSH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $127 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing