We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent stay in the heart if the old port. Could not ask for better location with walking distance to both the civic center and the waterfront with all the spots in between. Greeted with friendly service and prompt valet parking ($12 which is pretty good considering other hotels). We were given a free upgrade to a balcony room as we mentioned during our booking that we were coming for a special occasion. We were delivered homemade cookies upon arrival as well as a couple chocolates and a welcome card. A nice touch. We were not delivered the complimentary coffee we requested for the morning, but it could have been because we asked for this very late at night. Not a big deal as they do have a K-cup machine with a few coffees in the room. Used the spa for the jacuzzi and the gym looked nice. Very comfortable beds. If you are looking for a location close to everything the old port has to offer, then this is it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 964 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Whenever we visit in Portland we stay at the Regency. As always, our stay was very pleasant. We had dinner in the tavern. Ruby, our breakfast waitperson, was very accommodating. Great Bloody Mary (with or without vodka). Vegetarian Eggs Benedict a tasty breakfast choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jrhoffman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the newly constructed fourth floor rooms - with balcony. It was very nicely done. The bed was excellent. The bathroom was modern and left only one thing to be desired. There was no privacy for the toilet which is right next to the full glass shower. The Armory bar staff were attentive and the drinks very well made. The exercize area and spa including steamroom, sauna and elegant tiled hot tub grotto were excellent and complemented by a very nice men's and ladies' locker rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SREMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at Portland Regency many times - for us it it the ultimate destination in the heart of Old Port. The location is terrific - we park our cars and can get just about anywhere we want - great restaurants, sight seeing, etc. What we like about the accommodation is that the rooms are quiet and spacious, and right in the building is a great tavern (we are not wild about the high end restaurant - I think called 20 Milk Street in the hotel) and the on-site spa is very nice. Included is access to fitness rooms, saunas and hot tub. The spa services are very good and well-priced. This is an easy get-away weekend from the Boston area and a nice change of pace.
The only complaint I have is the last time we where there it was just after the blizzard. Each night around 10 or 11 the city would put out the heavy snow moving equipment - and kept at it until 6 am. I realize the hotel had no control over this - but it was not the restful weekend we had hoped. When I asked for a late check out on our last day, siting the two sleepless nights we had (we could fall into a deep sleep when the back up beepers of the equipment stopped in early morning) we got a bit ONE HOUR late check out. It was a little bit of a class-less move for a usually classy hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and have tubs. Since the renovation, many rooms no longer have bath tubs.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyGurrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Came to Portland for a long weekend and stayed her on recommendation of friends. Overall our stay was great and the staff was very helpful. Had a flood into our room Thursday night from the room above and it was handled very well. Was offered another room but since none of our property was flooded and we were all unpacked and it was going to be a smaller room we declined. They offered us $20 bar coupons or a discount on the room for that night and I should have taken the room discount! The Armory Bar was too crowded the rest of our stay to even get a seat so we couldn't use our coupons...
The in house restaurant was great as we had breakfast there 2 mornings. John our server was very attentive and the food was excellent.
As I said the bar was jammed Friday and Saturday and very loud. Couldn't get a seat anywhere.
This hotel is very centrally located making for easy walking in the Old Town district.
We'll be back in warmer weather and will be staying here again we hope.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lowest level as they are at or below street level and you'll have headlights...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband surprised me with a night's getaway for Valentine's Day. We stayed in room 420, which had a roof top deck. The view was fairly nice but not spectacular. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was awesome. The furnishings were nice and modern.

The location can't be beat for walking around the Old Port. The Armory Lounge was nice for a drink or two, but then it was so easy to leave and hit the other places in town.

The price is a bit higher than we like to usually spend, but it was worth it this once.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iggie394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a single night just to get away. I was impressed by both the room and the service. We stayed in a king room on the 4th floor (deck suites -- I think they are called). The room was freshly renovated with a comfortable bed, new flat screen TV and two nice sitting chairs. The bathroom was modern, spacious and very clean. Linens and towels all looked and felt fresh. The hotel provided complimentary coffee at our door in the AM, a nice touch. Visitors should expect that parking is valet only and $12 per night.

We had dinner nearby at 555 Congress (excellent) - the hotel drove us over saving us from a chilly walk - again a nice touch. I have stayed at several other hotels in the area -- the room, location and service puts the Regency at the top of my list.

Room Tip: I would expect that some of the lower floors might be a bit nosier owing to the hotel's location...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelwithZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $139 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing