We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff, comfortable room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Came to Portland for a long weekend and stayed her on recommendation of friends. Overall our stay was great and the staff was very helpful. Had a flood into our room Thursday night from the room above and it was handled very well. Was offered another room but since none of our property was flooded and we were all unpacked and it was going to be a smaller room we declined. They offered us $20 bar coupons or a discount on the room for that night and I should have taken the room discount! The Armory Bar was too crowded the rest of our stay to even get a seat so we couldn't use our coupons...
The in house restaurant was great as we had breakfast there 2 mornings. John our server was very attentive and the food was excellent.
As I said the bar was jammed Friday and Saturday and very loud. Couldn't get a seat anywhere.
This hotel is very centrally located making for easy walking in the Old Town district.
We'll be back in warmer weather and will be staying here again we hope.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lowest level as they are at or below street level and you'll have headlights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband surprised me with a night's getaway for Valentine's Day. We stayed in room 420, which had a roof top deck. The view was fairly nice but not spectacular. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was awesome. The furnishings were nice and modern.

The location can't be beat for walking around the Old Port. The Armory Lounge was nice for a drink or two, but then it was so easy to leave and hit the other places in town.

The price is a bit higher than we like to usually spend, but it was worth it this once.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iggie394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a single night just to get away. I was impressed by both the room and the service. We stayed in a king room on the 4th floor (deck suites -- I think they are called). The room was freshly renovated with a comfortable bed, new flat screen TV and two nice sitting chairs. The bathroom was modern, spacious and very clean. Linens and towels all looked and felt fresh. The hotel provided complimentary coffee at our door in the AM, a nice touch. Visitors should expect that parking is valet only and $12 per night.

We had dinner nearby at 555 Congress (excellent) - the hotel drove us over saving us from a chilly walk - again a nice touch. I have stayed at several other hotels in the area -- the room, location and service puts the Regency at the top of my list.

Room Tip: I would expect that some of the lower floors might be a bit nosier owing to the hotel's location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelwithZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Last weekend was the second time staying at this hotel. This time around my friend and I went during the blizzard and had a relaxing time, it's quite possible that the pub and restaurant were the only places in Portland serving food! The pub is quaint, cozy and the food is great. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Unfortunately we did not spend time in the spa, but will the next time when my husband and I go down in March. The rooms are comfortable and clean, it's a great hotel. It's funky but modern. I plan on staying at this hotel whenever we go down to Portland. I hate to let everyone in on this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at the Portland Regency over Thanksgivng weekend. It was a excellent location right in Old Port and could walk everywhere. Reminds me of Europe with the cobblestone streets. I lived in Portland for a few years, and we took a trip back to visit for the long weekend. The hotel is a historic building, but the interior looks more like the 80's once you leave the lobby. The decor was not updated. Although we stayed in the new King suites with balconys. They were nice as you could overlook Portland and the Bay. The room was nice, but furnishings were not 5 star. Bathroom was very sterlie, poor shower, low ceilings, no photos seemed like not finished yet. The bellman were very quick and helpful for valet when we needed to get our car. Overall good visit.

Room Tip: King Balcony Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have had the pleasure of staying at the Regency a couple times and always on New Years Eve, the rooms as well as the accomodations are top notch and not to mention it is one of the if not the most Historic Hotel in Maine constructed from an Armory. If you are looking to explore Portland and the Old Port..look no further its centrally located with plenty of food, shops and entertainment all within walking distance!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danloring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed at The Regency on 4 occations using their "Old Port Get Away" package. What a truely nice hotel. Their package includes breakfast on Saturday and brunch on Sunday. Within walking distance from the waterfront, old port, and to many good restaurants makes for a wonderful and relaxing winter weekend. Couple that with a ride on Amtrak's "Downeasted" and now you really have the makings of memorable weekend get away.

Room Tip: All room locations are good some wth views of the old port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tffob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $138 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing