We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Loved the convenience, the style, comfort, great staff. I loved this hotel. Felt like I was going back in time. You will not find this hotel on Priceline or Around me (App). The price was competitive to other hotels in area. My husband and I just went sightseeing in Portland,ME. We were walking around and decided to stay because of location. The weather was not bad for early November. We were very happy with the stay. I should have used their spa, I didn't. Next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ORANGECELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 998 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've been to Portland many, many times, and have stayed in several hotels there, and never even knew about the Portland Regency before. It's incredibly well-located, on a sweet cobblestone side street that is utterly charming and yet just one or two blocks away from one of Portland's hippest blocks, full of great bars and restaurants (sushi at Fuji, Novare Res for a world-class beer hall). We were thrilled to find this hidden gem just blocks away from our favorite places.

I booked an online off-season special online and put a note in the comment box asking for a nice room, since it was our anniversary. Imagine our delight when we showed up and were given a complimentary upgrade! We got a big, lovely room with a huge private deck. The bed was high and comfortable, the room enormous, and the whole experience completely charming. We love that it is not just another generic, pristine hotel--the room was quirky and interesting (but very clean and comfortable, with a big walk-in shower with multiple shower heads), and we got real, heavy keys to our room instead of key cards. We love that kind of retro, old-school stuff! We felt like we were in Mad Men.

The overall experience was one of real charm and luxury, though not sterile perfection (which was a plus to us, since we like a more unique establishment). And all this for a VERY reasonable price.

Basically, we just wanted to move in, and were sad we only had one night there. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Friendly staff, spoiled by noise from outside. Stayed two nights but glad to leave as there appeared to be some kind of homeless problem and lots were on the streets outside of the hotel and under my window. One in particular sounded like his world was coming to an end over a period of two hours uttering primal screams, but the night desk didn't seem willing to do anything about this (poor) guy so I got no sleep whatsoever.

Rooms ok, bed quite good.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RichieEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Superbly located in the midst of the charming Old Port section of Portland, the Regency is also notable for the quality of its decor, its restaurant and its lounge, as well as the courtesy and helpfulness of its staff. Most of Portland's attractions are within walking distance -- good restaurants, the waterfront, and a fine art museum. The ease and reasonable price of the valet parking are also plusses.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful classic hotel. Great bar, nice restaurant. Good size rooms with all ammenities needed. Had room with deck on 4th floor, very nice. Good service for our meeting room, had lunch service in Meeting room with perfect service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank junkbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Upon our arrival to portland we drove our rental car to the regency. The leaf peepers were out so the only room in town available was the governors suite at portland regency. The valet greeted us out front at the beautiful old hotel. He took our bags with a smile and delivered them to our lovely cozy clean room. Though pricey the governors suite was perfect for a visit with our son and his wife who live in the city. The suite area had a fresh ice machine and small fridge glassware and a sink as well as a separate restroom. We thoroughly enjoyed visiting in this space. The deck on the corner overlooked the city streets and provided us with natural light and fresh sea air. The seagulls flew down the center of town and we could see the historic city and the ocean. The master suite was comfortable and although we had a hard time finding the closets ( one in main area and two in master bath) they were adequate. There was no dresser but a wall drawer unit provided all the space we needed. The shower was spa like as we'll as the enormous jacuzzi. The fireplace faced both into the master bedroom and the main suite which was wonderful! Just be sure you're dressed when housekeeping brings your delicious breakfast because you can see through the fireplace from the living area master suite! . The front desk was great to give directions and help us with anything we asked. We would definitely stay here again. Everything's in walking distance and you really feel the city here! There was a little noise from the street on Halloween night but that's to be expected in a city room in an historic hotel.

Room Tip: Governors suite corner fourth floor overlooking city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely hotel, a great location and great service. Comfortable beds, elegant furnishings. Bathrooms were modern and spotless. Room service was outstanding and the valet service was accommodating, even when I needed my car at 3AM. I'll go back to this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cunard1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $128 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing