We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimaginative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe king. Room was small, unimaginative decor, small window (read cave-like) with worn carpets. Conversations and music came in through the bathroom air ducts. Not what you would expect for the price. Valet service was prompt. Next time in Portland I will look more closely at options on the downtown side of the Old Port.

Room Tip: Upper floors may have had larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelersTwoPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 998 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Our second stay.The deluxe rooms are nice, with balcony. Really have only two issues with these rooms:
Firstly there is no full length mirror(!),which seems unique to this hotel,all hotels provide a full length mirror...They would fit nicely on the closet or the outside of the bathroom door.
Secondly, there is no safe. For a fine hotel this is standard. There is a perfect place for them in the cabinet with the fridge. We do appreciate that a fridge, coffee maker, good coffee and creamers in the fridge are provided.
The reviewer that says that the walls are thin and the halls can be noisy is quite right, and that can bother some.
The location is perfect. You can get to your own car to get things in their valet parking lot which is hugely more convenient than needing to have it fetched just to get things out or put things in.
The bar is great. We haven't tried the dining room since there are so many wonderful options all around the area.
The downtown hotels are not inexpensive since there are only so many of them and the demand for them seems to be intense pretty much year round.
Oh, and the staff are pleasant. That is important,too.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here a few weeks ago while we were attending a friends wedding. We found it to be very convenient to the Old Port area, easily within walking distance of restaurants and shopping. The room was very clean and nicely appointed, and the staff was friendly and helpful. If you have the choice to include breakfast with your room, definitely do so. It was delicious! a heads-up: friends of ours stayed here as well and had a room in the basement (ours was on the first floor). They said that they were kept up all night with the sound of water rushing through pipes in the ceiling. On a better note, the complimentary morning coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again the next time we are in Portland.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHTraveler03301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a deluxe king. The reception staff were very pleasent and the valet parking was very efficient. The room was huge and the bed very comfortable with a nice up-to-date flat screen TV. The location is excellent close to shops, restaurants and the waterfront. Breakfast was great and a good menu. The armoury bar was also nice and provided a relaxing atmosphere with excellent food and service. We will return as its a great hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I just spent a week vacationing in New England and had the opportunity to stay at The Regency Hotel in Portland one night. The staff at the hotel was very pleasant and extremely easy to do business with. We had a very relaxing room for the night and everything was as it should have been. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that asked, it was by far the best hotel experience we had during our week.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Regency and as far as we were concerned it couldn't have been better. It has an old world feel to it, yet the room was comfortable, well appointed and up-to-date. We enjoyed breakfast each morning looking out the window of the breakfast room across the brick and cobblestone driveway as people must have done over 100 years ago. Yet we were 5 minutes from Fore St, Hugo's, Bar Lola, great bars, great restaurants. The service is over-the-top friendly, yet not in your face. We were here for St. Patrick's Day which is wild in Portland and it was nice to come back to this oasis of civility before we headed out again for more food and fun. We found no fault with the Regency, but we did get it for a good price which is always a plus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodtripBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed at the Regency for two nights in early October. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was on the small side but well-appointed. A major flaw for me was not enough light to read by in bed. The bed was comfortable, if a bit lumpy. The hotel should provide a map because the hallways are a bit of a maze. Soda machine didn't work. The Armor is a comfortable spot for a quick drink or an evening with friends. The location was perfect since I didn't have a car. I found it better to save on car rental until I was ready to leave the city. Room service breakfast was delicious. I didn't try the restaurant which looked too pricey. I got a rate of about $240 a night which is fine for off-season. I wouldn't pay over $300 for it, though. Go out the Market St door and there is a great sandwich place right across the street. (Market St Eats) I'd suggest they come up with a way to enter from that door rather than having to go all the way to the front of the hotel every time you enter. That was a bit inconvenient and a bit tiring after having walked all over the waterfront. Be warned- Nothing in this area is flat. It is all uphill from the waterfront and the streets are charming but uneven. An issue for some seniors. All in all, I'll return to the Regency any time I'm in Portland, for sure.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Carol327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
0.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk St, Portland, ME 04101-4128
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $128 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing