We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$199
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port(Portland)(Great Value!)
$226
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Plaza Portland(Portland)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clarion Hotel(Portland)
$116
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay(Portland)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Portland Harborview(Portland)(Great Value!)
$169
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Portland Harbor Hotel(Portland)(Great Value!)
$179
$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$197
$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,020)
Filter reviews
1,020 results
Traveler rating
504
325
112
50
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
325
112
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarmory loungemilk streetsteam roomold porthistorical hotelvalet parkingcomplimentary coffeeperfect locationturn down servicewithin walking distancetwo blocksvalet servicebars and restaurantseach morninghotel restaurantthird floornew england
Filter
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 1,020 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in what was supposed to be the nicest hotel in Portland, and granted the hotel is grand and the room is beautiful. When we checked in we understood we would have to change rooms for our second night, and wound up upgrading to an expensive room to keep from having to do that. So we're in a $400+/night 'suite'. Nice room, but it lacks basic amenities such as glassware and bottle opener. There is coffee service, but no tea option if you don't drink coffee. Internet is very spotty, you have to move to certain parts of the room to get connected. Not what I expect from a top end room. To top it off, on the second day, our dirty glasses were not cleared and the coffee was not replenished. We called down twice to get this seen to, and no one ever showed up.

Really disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sleddog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Portland Regency was formerly an armory and the historic use shows in good and bad ways. The location is perfect for Old Port shopping and restaurants. The hotel building is large and distinctive from the outside but feels like a boutique in the lobby. They have apparently added space in the conversion to a hotel. Oddly, the old part of the hotel is referred to as the annex even though it is closer to the lobby. The staff are extremely gracious. The rooms are a good size and nicely furnished, but the windows in most of the newly renovated rooms are tiny and situated high on the wall; more like a row of clerestories. Our annex room has wonderful high ceilings and full length windows that were, however, very narrow. In other words, none of the rooms appear to have an abundance of natural light due to the historic use as an armory. The hotel provides complimentary coffee or tea and a croissant or danish delivered to your room at 8 am or earlier. There is also a lovely outdoor restaurant/cafe/bar in front of the hotel. The room rates are high (plus charge for parking), but the experience is worthwhile.

Room Tip: if you care about natural light, request a room in the annex with full length windows.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel; although, my conference was held here. I did, however, make use of the spa for a facial. It was definitely worth it! They were able to accommodate me with a last minute slot, and Kristen did the facial. She did a great job, and my skin felt amazing. I get facials from time to time, but the products they use, Pevonia, felt divine. I bought a set, and I am still using them with great results a month later. If you're in Portland for business, or even leisure, treat yourself. Also, the conference facilities and catering were fantastic. Seemed like a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BmoreBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel for the historic setting/location and history of the property. Upon arrival, we were instantly greeted by the bellman/valet offering to assist with our luggage. Nice service, no matter how much luggage your traveling with! A lovely entrance to greet us at the front desk and plenty of smiles to go around from all staff. We were offered an upgrade, and thoroughly surprised by our quality and size of our suite! Bedding and linen was crisp and nicely made. There was, however a bit too much bleach scent in the sheets. The amenities were many - over - sized shower and bath and a fireplace. Coffe was delivered at no charge. We will come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardener1Sturbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I would not stay at this hotel again. The room itself was clean and updated but the rest of the hotel looked very worn and tacky. It is a historic armory that was transformed in the 80's into a hotel. The walls are paper thin....we could hear the tv in the next room and doors slamming in the hallway. Ceilings very low...plastic exit signs tacked on the wall....not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theferk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews