We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Portland is your city,you must visit this special home!”

Wadsworth-Longfellow House
Ranked #24 of 151 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home where poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow lived as a boy.
Gorham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“If Portland is your city,you must visit this special home!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I did not visit the Wadsworth-Longfellow House until I was in high school. Then I was amazed at the rich history it held for Portland citizens about one of its most well loved poets. For out-of-towners it is also a wonderful stop to see the well preserved home and hear informed docents detail Longfellow's early life in Maine. The gardens and little gift shop are also worth the trip. We try to visit almost yearly around Christmastime when the house is decked out in its winter grandeur.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank madlady22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    69
    13
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“How small!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went to the house on a rainy day and there were problems with puddles to walk over, around or through and doors that were locked and difficult to open. Other than that, the tour was wonderful ~ and the guide knowledgeable. The rooms were amazingly small for the number of people who lived there in its heyday!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Longfellow House”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a good guide, and spent an interesting hour looking around and hearing about Longfellow's life both in Portland and elsewhere. Well worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank disgusted69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur GA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
“Lovely Historic Home”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didn't know that Longfellow spent his early childhood here. We went on a tour and stopped at the house. It was worth the time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RhodaJoyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In my Hometown”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What can I say about such a historic place? The rooms are tiny and you can't be too tall to visit or you will hit your head on the ceiling. Beautifully maintained and brings you back to a time long forgotten. As you visit you can almost feel the spirit of this sad and gifted man whose life was filled with tragedy. You will enjoy your visit here and the Maine Historical Society next door.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadsworth-Longfellow House also viewed

 

Been to Wadsworth-Longfellow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing