We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Mansion

Victoria Mansion
Ranked #9 of 141 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Victoria Mansion, also known as the Morse-Libby House, is the finest example of residential design from the pre-Civil War era in America. With superb architecture and well-preserved original interiors that were among the most lavish and sophisticated in their day, it is an unparalleled document of America’s highest aspirations in architecture, interior design, and the decorative arts. Our history, a quick tour, and our present-day efforts at restoring the Mansion convey an impression of the significance of this unique site, which is of national and even international importance.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Four of us visited this week after I found Victoria Mansion online while looking for something to do near Freeport. We had no problem parking, finding a spot directly across the street. I told the women in the gift shop -- where you also buy your tour tickets -- that the website was unclear on hours of operation. They were going to look into that, but I haven't checked back to see if it has been updated. Our tour guide was lovely and very knowledgeable. I saw some comments about the price of admission. With our AAA membership, it was $13,50 per person which none of us thought was out of line. Yes -- we wish we could have seen all of the mansion and grouched about the Fire Marshall not wanting us to go to the third floor for some fire code reasons. The mansion is beautiful, and if you find historic homes of interest, I'm sure you will ike it here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KTM990-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    157
    50
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

the Turkish theme smoking room, finely characterful bathroom - wonderfully odd. Pompei decor. The powerful staircase and hall with an inescapably bold chandelier. What a statement of Victorian times.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank casamolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decorators visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

It was great to see this Portland treasure festooned by local interior decorators. great . This highlighted the architectural features of each room.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobertaQ8199GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Parking appeared non existent. No signs indicating a parking lot could be seen. We felt admission fees is too much for a mansion that you can see in about 15 mins. Newport mansions that we had visited earlier were much better. Gift shop did not have any magnets of Maine or actually magnets of any kind! Disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roshin_Shilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great expectations poor delivery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Overall the price of admission and lack of ability for any kind of photography was disappointing. People go to museums for the experience to last. My group was rudely followed like we were about to steal something. And the pretentious guides were over the top on preservation as if touching the velvet rope was prohibited. I love museums, but this was the worst experience I've ever had. It would be better if they limited the contemporary art that had little to do with the exhibits and allowed pictures, at least some area where photographs could be taken. The artist is way to protective of his pieces to be regarded as talented. A great artist shares with the world with unspoken expectations that those who view it will support future work. The architecture was great, but unable to photograph was pathetic, as if a non-flash photo would damage the delicate building.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thingstodobe4udie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Victoria Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing