We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hour or So”
Review of Victoria Mansion

Victoria Mansion
Ranked #8 of 151 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Victoria Mansion, also known as the Morse-Libby House, is the finest example of residential design from the pre-Civil War era in America. With superb architecture and well-preserved original interiors that were among the most lavish and sophisticated in their day, it is an unparalleled document of America’s highest aspirations in architecture, interior design, and the decorative arts. Our history, a quick tour, and our present-day efforts at restoring the Mansion convey an impression of the significance of this unique site, which is of national and even international importance.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Nice Hour or So”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

A very interesting, nicely appointed attraction, if you like tours of old opulent homes (as we do). We went at Christmas time when they decorate every room in a holiday theme -- which was, frankly, weird and distracting. They informed us that the house was a summer retreat, so it never was actually decorated by the original owners for the holidays and much of the decoration was, frankly, weird. Huge palm trees and fake cotton-snow, etc.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GHC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    167
    53
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Well preserved elegance”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you love period mansions this is one of the castles in America. There is a lot to see. The guides are knowledgable and friendly. There is a large gift shop and the prices are reasonable. Do not recommend for young children because of the stairs and need for close supervision. Suggest that you really talk to the guides they worked hard to preserve this home and they love to tell you about it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank travaillour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Christmas magic”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The place was decked out for the holidays by different designers and was quite lovely and magical but admission was $15 to raise money. Much of the house has yet to be renovated or opened to the public (you can't see the Kitchen for example) but what you could see was incredible especially the library with it's ceiling painted to really look like wood and the way over the top front parlor. I'd even return to see what it looks like with out the Christmas make over. .

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Thoroughly impressed”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Myself, my spouse, and my mother explored Victoria Mansion as it is decorated for Christmas. Every room reflected the talents of local artists and vendors. My mother expressed that it was the best Christmas home tour that she had ever taken, and she has gone on many such tours throughout Rhode Island and Massachusetts. I loved the holiday decor, but I also really enjoyed that the mansion retains so much of the original furniture and small architectural details. I would go again outside of the Christmas season just to see more of that.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Citizen_of_Amherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A holiday treat”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

From late November to early January, the mansion offers house tours to show off local decorators' work in about a dozen of its rooms. Each year, decorators design a room to reflect a specific Christmas theme. It's great fun to see them match the year's theme with the mansion's classic decor. The 2011 theme is "Deck the Halls." It runs through Jan. 8, 2012.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrapin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Victoria Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing