We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great neighborhood spot!”
Review of Pai Men Miyake

Pai Men Miyake
Ranked #61 of 617 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great neighborhood spot!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Amazing sushi--the ceviche roll is one of the finest things I've ever eaten. Love the pork buns as well! Oddly I have never loved the soups, but that could just be me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goose299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    53
    20
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If you are looking for authentic, hearty, healthy, gourmet noodles this is your place. My boyfriend and I stumbled in on a cold blustery December afternoon for a quick bite. We weren't disappointed! I had a the Pai Tan (pork & chicken broth topped with pork belly, soy marinated egg, scallion and nori)- I kid you not it was the most delicious meal I have ever had. My boyfriends sushi and noodle dish was equally esquisite. The waitstaff was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. This place is the whole package, atmosphere, other wordly food options, great draft list and fantastic staff. Can't recommend Pai Men Miyake enough!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julianne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tried it Twice.....”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was very disappointed on the first visit. Everything seemed really salty and there were almonds on my roll. Also, the chicken they use for the soups is really bland and tasteless breast meat. There is a lot of local hype around this place, so I thought I'd try again. It wasn't better. To be fair, when I go for Japanese, I prefer it to be more traditional rather than innovative

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhitPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Noodles, But . . . .”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A great addition to the Portland food scene, but less than 5-stars. As mentioned by other reviewers the wait is on the long side for a bowl of noodles. The kitchen needs to get a move on. If you order a few apps and some sushi rolls the price seems on the high side. The atmosphere is fresh, modern, and pleasing to the eye but is on the loud side. Service is hit or miss; not a lot of TLC, but they get the job done. All in all if you are craving a bowl of noodles, go for it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrubGuzzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Different but good food”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a yakatori house so do your homework before you go in. It is also a noodle house and there is some sushi. Myake owns this place too so the food is locally grown on his farm here in Maine.
Love the atmosphere and the brick accent wall. Give this a try if you love ethnic food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pai Men Miyake also viewed

 

Been to Pai Men Miyake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing