We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little museum, lovely little train ride”

Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum
Ranked #25 of 151 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. & Museum preserves and operates Maine's two foot gauge railway equipment for the education and enjoyment of the public. Visitors can enjoy a scenic train ride along Casco Bay or explore the museum which features historic rail cars, exhibits and activities for children. The museum is open daily from early May through late October (9:30am-4:00pm) and seasonally for events including the Polar Express. Visit our website for more information including a full schedule of events.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
boston
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum, lovely little train ride”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband is a train buff and we have visited train museums and taken scenic rides in the US and Europe. This was one of the best values for the money.

The museum has some wonderful, well-curated artifacts. The ride, although short is incredibly scenic. Our conductor was a retired geology professor from nearby Bowdoin college and extremely interesting. Great sense of humor too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank liviBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    89
    29
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Informative, scenic”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visited the railroad museum after seeing it on a sightseeing map of Portland. A $10 each entrance fee gets you entry to the museum and a 45 minute train ride along the coast. The museum gives you a chance to see some early carriages up close and a walk through some of them. The train journey is a trip out and back along the same line, with a driver, conductor and line man. We were quite lucky because we were the only passengers we had a personal guided tour. If you do have children they sometime let them blow the horn if that's of interest. We did give a tip at the end that went to the museum because it is volunteer run.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank adb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Ride”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Worth an hour of your time if you are in the area or a train enthusiast. We've been to several train museums & it's not the largest or the best, but I do appreciate the time & effort that the volunteers dedicate to maintaining the trains & museum, and educating us about the history of the railroad. We took the short train ride along the waterfront, powered by the Monson Steam Locomotive #4. The conductor we spoke to was very knowledgeable & graciously answered our barrage of questions. This railway is unique because it is a two-foot gauge railway versus the usual three-foot narrow gauge or standard gauge.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OUTCRUISIN2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Short Ride into the Past”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

It's always a treat to ride a train with open cars. It would have been better with a steam engine. It was still a fun ride with excellent narration about the history going back to the Grand Trunk Western and the connection with both the Boston & Maine and Canadian National Railways. It can be enjoyed by anyone old enough to walk or young enough to still walk. The museum visit that was included with the price of a ticket was very interesting. We spent an enjoyable few hours there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoBGolfLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a real coal train”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a fun train ride in a real coal train.
A nice ride along the waterfront.
It is a short ride down to the end and back but my train enthusiast husband really enjoyed it. And how often can you rid a real coal powered train.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing