We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small but well done railroad museum”

Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum
Ranked #26 of 150 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. & Museum preserves and operates Maine's two foot gauge railway equipment for the education and enjoyment of the public. Visitors can enjoy a scenic train ride along Casco Bay or explore the museum which features historic rail cars, exhibits and activities for children. The museum is open daily from early May through late October (9:30am-4:00pm) and seasonally for events including the Polar Express. Visit our website for more information including a full schedule of events.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A small but well done railroad museum”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This wonderful small railroad museum is tucked into a commercial area along Portland's waterfront. It is well work taking the time to find it. There are rides on the narrow gauge railroad which unfortunately we missed because of the time of day. We did get to tour the museum which was very well done. It details the history of Maine's narrow gauge rails along with the economic changes taking place. There were several cute rail cars you can go on along with a spectacular parlor car you could look into. This exhibit is well worth the time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    82
    29
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was a little concerned having read that one reviewer was disappointed!
It was a wet Wednesday in May, but from the moment we got through the door the people were just lovely. There were 4 carriages, 2 which you could go on, which really showed how comfortable they were, there was an old converted Model T which had rail wheels fitted and a rail bus. By taking sometime and reading the information supplied you could learn a lot about the 2 foot gauge railways which were all over this part of America. If you visit with Children, I can imagine they would get bored, but for us older ones, it was nice. Children would probably enjoy the train ride, but would get bored in the Museum, I would have at their age, but at my age I found it fascinating. The volunteers running the train were really nice and very informative, I even got to see inside the train itself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

For $10, you get to look at a few restored cars (4, when we were there) and the pictures on the station walls and the gift shop. Then you take a 35 minute ride which consists of about 12 minutes of ride, then 10 minutes to take pictures of an out-of-use railroad bridge in the distance as well as the bay, then 12 minutes going back on the same track. The upside was that the car was stenciled with The Polar Express on it so kids loved it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The train is an open air model. It's a nice trip along the sea, very picturesque and pleasant. It was over too quickly, I'd like to go again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank foodiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free Access to a Fascinating Array of Artifacts - Transportation in our Country's History”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

It's easy to find yourself over a mile away from where you parked your car right next to the first derailed train, each one takes your back further in history - all preserved, never replicated!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleHoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing