We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A slice of Pizza Heaven”
Review of Otto

Otto
Ranked #19 of 614 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: OTTO serves gourmet, specialty pizza by the slice or whole pie. Serving discerning pizza fans in New England since 2009.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
289 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A slice of Pizza Heaven”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dinner Saturday night at the 225 Congress Street location was very nice. This was our 2nd taste of Otto’s Pizza and it is excellent for Portland. The #12 White Bean, Sausage, Herb & Red Flake is a big hit with us. We also tried #15 Eggplant, Ricotta and Basil with some thumbs up. The rich tomato sauce overpowered the eggplant on it and my preference is less red sauce and more eggplant. The interior has that warm welcoming feel and the staff works so well together. We will no doubt return again and again. Otto’s help feed our need between trips to the north end of Boston and Pizza Regina on Thatcher Street.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    102
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not pass this by!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Oh, my- you have never seen so many varieties of pizza in your life. Some are quite unusual, but all that we tried were so delicious. The bacon and mashed potato pizza was so good that we got another slice after eating 3 other kinds of pizza. The white bean pizza sounds weird, but it was outstanding. The crust is very thin and crispy. It's a small place, but we had a great conversation with our fellow people at the bar. We are sad that we don't live anywhere near Portland, or we'd be regulars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Constantly amazing!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Whether it's take-out or dining-in, the pizza has always been terrific. Mashed potato and bacon with cheese? What are you waiting for!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
221 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yes,mashed potatoe,bacon and scallion pizza. Great!c”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Small hole in the wall but the best pizza on the Atlantic coast! Next time I will try the pulled pork. It is a must try. The staff is great as well

Helpful?
Thank Shiffer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, unique pizzas!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

As a New Yorker I am usually hesitant to try pizza elsewhere, but this place looked interesting so we gave it a try. It wound up being pretty great. They had topping combinations I would have never thought of, including mashed potatoes which was amazing. It's a small place, we sat at the bar, but didnt feel cramped or anything.
They has Brooklyn on tap too which was nice! Definitely a nice spot to try while in Portland. We got served immediately at like 8pm on a Friday, so not too bad for a wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto also viewed

 

Been to Otto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing