We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun find in Portland for a great glass of wine and a great pie”
Review of Otto

Otto
Ranked #28 of 627 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: OTTO serves gourmet, specialty pizza by the slice or whole pie. Serving discerning pizza fans in New England since 2009.
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A fun find in Portland for a great glass of wine and a great pie”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

With toppings ranging from cranberries to mash potatoes and tortellini (and everything else in between) Otto is a fantastic choice for a quick, excellent bite. The wine offerings are also well selected. It is a tiny spot do expect to be a bit crammed or saddle up to the bar. It is right across from Empire Dine and Dance, a popular music venue, making Otto's a perfect spot to grab a bite before or after a show. Awesome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxycape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    108
    24
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza in the area”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

There is a lot of good pizza in the Portland area, but Otta is the best around. We have eaten at both locations, several times, and each time I walk out thinking "that was amazing pizza!" The pulled pork and mango pizza is a favorite of mine.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ricladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Otto has my favorite pizza ever. Try the mashed potatoes and bacon or the white bean and sausage. The East End location is always busy, but worth waiting for. Or get takeout, and take it to the Snug next door.

Helpful?
Thank sunnyb6301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Why are you still reading this?.... GO!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Awesome Pie, Best I have had anywhere north of NYC. We always get it while in town and buy a pie to take home. The sauce is to die for.

No point in going in depth. It is simply awesome.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HABSFAN140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SETTING SPARSE, BUT PIZZA A-PLUS”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Don't let the scale (small) or the decor (minimal) of this great pizza place keep you away. Yes, the walls are white tile, but everything is spotlessly clean, the service is very good, and the pizza is on a level with the best in NYC, northern Jersey, or New Haven. Truly. All they serve is pizza and a few kinds of red wine. If you are a serious, focused pizza-lover this is the place for you. My wife had a margherita (with loads of fresh basil--in January), and I had the four-cheese white. WOW! Next time we are in Portland, this is where we're going. The crust on these pies is freaking amazing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miklos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto also viewed

 

Been to Otto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing