We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very educational and fun, great food pairings!”
Review of Wine Wise Events

Wine Wise Events
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Wine and food pairing education at it's best! Choose from our highly rated Wine (and food) Walks in Portland, Kennebunk, Kennebunkport and Ogunquit, Maine where you'll taste delicious wines with paired fresh fare at a series of great restaurants. Or our Wine Sails in Portland's Casco Bay or Camden's Penobscot Bay and enjoy scenic views of Maine lighthouses, waterways and islands while indulging in a wine class on board a beautiful Windjammer. You'll walk away with a better understanding of wine, gain tips for pairing with food, and how to describe what you smell and taste. Plan to have a great experience and learn a lot about wine.
portland, me
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very educational and fun, great food pairings!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have been on a Wine Wise event 3 times now and everytime it has been great! The first time was on the Wine Cruise aboard theCasablanca in Sept. It was a gourgous fall day, no jacket req'd. Being out on Caso Bay is always fun but with good friend, good wine and great food it is special. Erica is always entertaining and very knowledgable. I have done 2 wine walks this winter with friends in the Olde Port and both were great. I highly recommend going on a Wine Wise event if you are in Portland and love wine!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank reggieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineWiseEvents, Owner at Wine Wise Events, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experiences at Wine Wise events. I am so happy to know that you enjoyed yourself. ~Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    7
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland area, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best wine and food pairing event Portland has to offer!”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We went on a red wine odyssey which included 4 red wine tastings paired with four small plates and 4 different (uniquely) restaurants, all within a short walk of each other in the Old Port. Erica is more than a wealth of knowledge, she is engaging and interesting and provided the perfect venues for each tasting. The chef owners of each restaurant also spoke with the group to further enhance this experience. This is for friends, for couples, for solo-ists who want to enjoy a fabulous city with some excellent wine and food!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineWiseEvents, Owner at Wine Wise Events, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experiences at Wine Wise events. I really appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again soon. ~Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, nc
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly an awesome summer Sunday event”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just got back to NC from visiting in Maine. Last Sunday went on a wine tasting event with Erica Archer-Wine Wise Events.... Truly a master wine tasting coach and the other attractions that she put together were fantastic... Blues Band, wine tasting, great flatbread pizza and the view is phenomenal. The Casablanca crew is superb and very accomodating also. Would highly recommend any event that Erica has put together...

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank debbienc7593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineWiseEvents, Owner at Wine Wise Events, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
We are so grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor! Maybe we'll see you on another Wine Wise cruise during your next trip to Maine! ~Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,671 helpful votes
“Wine Wise - Fun and Educational!”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

What a great time we had on the Wine Wise cruise! It was the perfect combination of fun and educational. We got to taste 5 different wines of the world, with company owner Erica Archer giving us advice about what to look for re: color and intensity, smell, and various flavors found in the wines. There was an abundant array of fruits, veggies, cheese, bread and jams to accompany the wines. I’m not an authority on or true connoisseur of wine – much more of a casual wine enthusiast – but found this to be a very relaxed and unintimidating experience.

It didn’t hurt that it was a gorgeous late afternoon/evening as we cruised through beautiful Casco Bay on the Casablanca. The boat had set-ups both inside and outside on the deck; most everyone gravitated to the deck due to the splendid weather, but the inside seating also looked very comfortable.

After we were finished with the tastings, Erica walked around and spoke with all the guests – she’s a very interesting lady. Wine Wise also has weekly wine tastings at the Wine Bar on Wharf Street. We haven’t tried one of those yet, but look forward to checking out that experience as well. In the meantime, we can thoroughly recommend the Wine Wise cruises.

Helpful?
19 Thank VOYJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineWiseEvents, Owner at Wine Wise Events, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you for being the first to write a review about Wine Wise events! I am so happy to know that you both had a great time. I hope to see you again next time you are in Maine! ~Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Wise Events also viewed

 

Been to Wine Wise Events? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing