We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic New Orleans grub in Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Po' Boys and Pickles

Po' Boys and Pickles
Ranked #125 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic New Orleans grub in Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Love this place! Huge sandwiches, great sides and can't miss desserts! The atmosphere is blah, but with food like this...who cares!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Consistently great sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Love this place - have made several outings in the last couple years. All of the sandwiches I have sampled have been great - the Blackened Fish, the Golden Fried Oyster, the Muffuletta, the Reggie Loaf. Yesterday enjoyed the Dirty Bird, a pint of Abita Amber and some Gravy Fries - great as always. Friendly service each time. Fun to sample different items on the extensive cajun/creole menu. Next time I will try the Boudin Balls. Can't wait!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JDS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed pulled pork sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great pulled pork sandwich. Good service and comfortable place. Great sandwich menu with lots of New Orleans favorites. Looking forward to a fried oyster sandwich or a traditional PO-boy. Will eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank jimshim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Was amazed at the great food and nice people..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stopped here on a whim, one day, with my granddaughter..she is a chicken wing fanatic, and i was looking for a great cheeseburger...the food was so good, that i have been back twice more in the last month, trying the blackened fish salad (not my fave), and my sis had the fried oyster sandwich, which she raved about...the cheeseburger was one of the best, excellent fries, fabulous wings, great onion rings (petals)...this food is the bomb, i have to say, and it's not alot of hype, just nice folks and great food...great prices, as well..

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank novella51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best pulled pork sandwich in Maine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We live near Po'Boys and Pickles so we go there often. The only thing I have ever ordered is the pulled pork sandwich. It is what I got the first time I went and it is so delicious that I have to order it when I go there. My wife tells me the rest of the menu is great but when you find perfection in a sandwich why stray? I must have the pulled pork! Service is always friendly and they seem to appreciate their customers. They also give the best tasting pickles with ever order. Not a ton of room inside and we usually get our food to go but they recently added outdoor seating which is great on nice days.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Po' Boys and Pickles also viewed

 

Been to Po' Boys and Pickles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing