We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, fun and well worth it.”

Maine Foodie Tours - Culinary Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 29 Nightlife in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Join Maine Foodie Tours and taste your way through town! Experience the talents and tastes of Maine while entertaining guides immerse you in culinary history and culture. All unique tours give your taste buds and minds lots to chew upon!
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Interesting, fun and well worth it.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our guide was wonderful. She loved the town and she knew food. I wish we had done this on our first day. She had great recommendations on everything!

This definitely leaned toward a culinary tour and less of a food tour. There were no stops at restaurants. Still, we stopped at some fascinating venues. We learned a lot about the local food scene and local cooking and the time flew by. She tossed in a little history so we were able to get the feel of the town, but it wasn't a history lesson at all. This is our fifth food tour in various cities and probably our most knowledgeable enthusiastic guide yet. After the tour we went to every place recommended and wow, she knew her stuff!!

Great afternoon and great time!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnotherHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    70
    25
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Tour and Food left wanting a little more....”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I have done many food tours in the US (Chicago, Charleston, SC, San Fransisco, and Hawaii). We really enjoyed the walk and seeing downtown Portland, ME. This was the first time we had a tour guide on the food tour that really was not a foodie person. He did well in the presentation but he was just never passionate about the food or excited about a particular food place to eat. We felt we had to hold back on some culinary questions for this reason. We will also admit that out of all the tours we have done, this tour had the least amount of food and we were shocked being in Portland, ME, the LOBSTER CAPITOL, we ate no lobster on the tour?!?!!?!!!? Needless to say, we are addicted to food tours and enjoyed this tour and are glad we did it. The stops on the tour were Vervacious, Old Port Wine and Cigar Shop, Two Fat Cats, Dean's Sweets, Stonewall Kitchen, K Horton Specialty foods, and Shipyard Brewing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrcanfield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Maine Foodie Tours; Chocolate Walking Tour”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I were looking for something fun to do Columbus Day weekend. We were there for our wedding anniversary. After browsing some Portland activity guides my wife came across Maine Foodie Tours Chocolate Walking tour on her phone. We had talked about doing the chocolate walking tour in Boston but never had the time to do it. My wife suggested the Maine chocolate tour and I said sure, lets go for it. It was absolutely wonderful! Parking on the waterfront in Portland can be tricky and getting a spot in a lot can take a little time so plan accordingly if you are taking the tour. The tour started at Vervacious where we met our tour guide Pat. The tour was very relaxed and we started with learning a bit of the history of chocolate and sampled a blended chocolate drink with an Aztec blend cocoa and vanilla cocoa. It was served chilled and as you drank it there was a slight hint of heat as Pat explained. The blend was perfect! We also sampled a locally made chocolate which was rich, smooth and creamy. Our sampling at Vervacious concluded with strawberries dipped in a balsamic vinegar and chocolate reduction that brought out the flavor of the strawberry. Everything we sampled was delicious. The tour moved on to the next stop which was a cupcake venue. The shop was a runnerup on cupcake wars. The chocolate cupcake with the frosting was heavenly! The cupcake was light with rich chocolate taste and the frosting was very light and airy. It was a delight to the palate. After sampling cupcakes we moved on to sampling chocolate fudge a few doors away which was also delicious. We traveled across the street to sample yougurt with chocolate nibs on top. Pat, our guide explained how chocolate was made all through the tour and how it was a treat years ago just for royalty that became a favorite for all people. The next chocolate delight was a fudge brownie that just exploded with flavor and the irony is it is gluten free. The final stop on the tour included a chocolate martini. Our guide Pat was wonderful. The total time was about 2.5 hours and had an easy pace that gave ample time at each establishment to enjoy the samples and ask questions. After the tour we went back to some of the establishments to get some goodies to take home with us. The price was very reasonable for what was included in the tour. We highly recommend the tour if you like chocolate!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiresooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Informative”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First time in Portland and it was a fun way to get to see downtown Portland and taste the local foods of the city. Pat, the tour guide was very knowlegeable and had lots of enery! She kept us on time and moving along at a great pace! Will recommend to my friends when they visit Maine!
Can't wait to eat the new foods I bought from the tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good overview of the Old Portland area.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

One of the best things my husband and I did in Portland! We started off our 4-day trip to Portland with a Maine Foodie Tour. There are several types of tours - we did the Culinary Walking Tour. We spent 2 1/2 hours with our guide on a leisurely walk through the Old Port area. We sampled lobster, cheese, spices/condiments, chocolates, beer/soda, woopie pies, wine, smoked fish, scones, blueberrry jam (plus all the samples at Stonewall Kitchen) ,and learned alot about the area. We made some other stops, but can't remember them all. Our guide, Pat, pointed out many fabulous shops, attractions, and restaurants along the way (which were just as good as she said). She was very knowledgeable, as she has worked in the food industry her entire life. She also taught an unrelated cooking class (through Stonewall Kitchen) on another night - so she knows her stuff! This is a "get to know Portland and it's food tour", not a shopping excursion. Some in our group slowed us down by making purchases along the way, but Pat was patient, and got us to all our stops. Before leaving town, we went back to several of the shops and purchased items. We didn't have time to visit all the restaurants that were recommended, but we did manage to make it to the Standard Bakery every morning after the tour, and also ate at Fore Street - they print up a new menu every day to allow for the fresh local produce and seafood that is available. Portland is known for it's food culture - we know why now. We plan to go back, and would schedule another tour - maybe the chocolate one next time! Check them out on Mainefoodietours.com. They offer other tours, some walking, some by trolley in season, and have some available in Kennebunkport as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lkpenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Foodie Tours - Culinary Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Maine Foodie Tours - Culinary Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing