We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate Tour: Wonderful and a Great Value”

Maine Foodie Tours - Culinary Walking Tours
Ranked #1 of 29 Nightlife in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Join Maine Foodie Tours and taste your way through town! Experience the talents and tastes of Maine while entertaining guides immerse you in culinary history and culture. All unique tours give your taste buds and minds lots to chew upon!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chocolate Tour: Wonderful and a Great Value”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We took a spur of the moment Chocolate Walking tour when we saw the sign while wandering around Old Portland. We enjoyed the selection of restaurants and food. There were was excellent and unique pairings such as chocolate balsamic reduction with strawberries. Our guide eloquently articulated her passion for food and we all shared in her inquisitive spirit. The restaurant recommendations she offered alone were worth the affordable price. Perhaps most memorable was the conversation with the other tour participants – fellow foodies sharing their stories and passion. I highly recommend for guided tour fans, chocolate lovers and/or foodies. I would have happily paid 50% more for this tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Myntmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    70
    25
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, CT
2 reviews
“Had a great ime”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I just took this tour and highly recommend it. Our guide was both charming and highly knowledgeable. The variety of shops where we stopped was interesting, and the food/drink portions were fine for this type of tour. We learned a lot about what Portland has to offer, foodwise!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantsville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get a local insider info on where to eat”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a wonderful way to experience Portland, ME. We'd been up to Portland the day before and wandered around without really knowing the best spots to hit. After the tour we had a better idea of where to shop and learned a better appreciation of the local businesses. Thanks Pat for a bit of history and some great food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmer, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Another great foodie tour!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Honestly, I have never been on a foodie tour that I have not enjoyed and this was no different. The guide, Pat, was a former caterer and knowledgeable and informative. Most tours I have been on visited different restaurants but this was a little unique in that we visited a spice shop, fish market, whoopie pie bakery, brewery, a cheese emporium, a chocolate store and a couple of other places and Pat had actually personally prepared some of the items we tasted. She was very organized and well prepared. It is a long walk and one of our party had to drop out about half way through the tour because his knee was bothering him. Pat had asked before we began if anyone had mobility issues and he did not tell her that he did or she might have advised him what to expect. She also provided historic insight into Portland and into the foodie scene. This is a great introduction to eating in Portland!

Helpful?
Thank seaski42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlee, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wow, what a way to get an insider's look at Portland!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a great time with a charming and smart tour guide of all kinds of purveyors while walking through downtown Portland, tasting chocolates and cheeses and beer and great fish, while hearing interesting stories and history of the city. Couldn't have been more fun! Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Foodie Tours - Culinary Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Maine Foodie Tours - Culinary Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing