We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique food offerings - open atmosphere”

The Corner Room Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #77 of 621 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: If you're looking for the best Italian restaurant in Portland, Me you have come to the right place! The Corner Room features affordable, Italian-inspired food that the whole family will enjoy.Chef Lee Harding has dedicated his life to bringing locally grown food back to the tables of Maine. With a friendly neighborhood feel and great prices, The Corner Room should be first on your list for an authentic Maine experience. Portland, ME is second only to San Francisco, CA in its dining establishments per capita. That means only one other city in the entire country has more restaurants to choose from for its amount of residents. When the competition is this fierce, award-winning restaurants, like The Corner Room, tend to stand apart from the crowd.The Corner Room was the third restaurant founded in Harding's "The Rooms" brand of eateries. Since 2009, the Corner Room has been featured in Many of Maine's top publications as a "Best Bet" for Portland Maine food.Open seven days a week, The Corner Room offers brunch, lunch and dinner selections with a wide selection of Italian wines, happy hour specials and food so good that you'll wonder why it's not double the price!Visit The Corner Room today and find out what you've been missing.
Troy, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique food offerings - open atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The menu at the Corner Room has wonderful selection and even better taste. The atmosphere is not stuffy and you have the feeling that you're having a high quality meal influenced by cooks who really like to innovate. Seafood - excellent. Vegetarian offerings - very good. The cheese board changes its selections regularly. The seating is a little tight, (Our family members are all pretty tall.) but that sort of made eating there feel cozier. Definitely will want to return there to see what new dishes are being offered.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    107
    44
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stopped in using our Living Social Deal. I had a really goo swine and a salad with chick peas (don't see it on the online menu). Chicken Marsala was for dinner. A little slim on the mushrooms, but the side of polenta was delicious. My boyfriend had the Bitter Greens Salad and the Salmon on special for the night. We got a loaf of soft bread with some olive oil, salt and pepper for dipping. It was an overall good experience, but a little pricy. Service was on the slow side, but it was very busy at 6:00 when we arrived. Our waiter was very kind and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, quality dinner”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ate dinner recently at the Corner Room. Our server was excellent- attentive and friendly, and clearly knew the menu well. Our food was delicious and the "large" pasta servings were well named- we each took some home. Pasta was fresh and both cooked and seasoned well. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Almost 5 Star”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great place, just because when Happy Hour is on the bar noise (which we knew about before going) does impact on the overall enjoyment. That said, and really the only reason it didn't get 5-stars, everything else was outstanding. First, our server Keri was absolutely fantastic! She not only knew the menu but was able to aid us in making various selections. We started with Mussels that were done to perfection and the garlic bread served with them was indescribable; the olives, served warm, (actually HOT so let them cool a while) were another great treat. With four of us each having a different main course - linguini, pan roasted fish, scallops and saltimbocca (only the saltimbocca was not perfect, it was a little overdone with the coating being browner than we'd have liked). The drinks - one made to order that is not even on the bar list - were all well done. You bet we'll be back - and hopefully have Keri as our server again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KennewickGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quality Italian Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The food was the best Italian we've had in Portland. The antipasti was fresh and served on a long board--very unique and quite delicious. We had the chicken picata that was the most juicy I've had. Extensive wine selection as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tffob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Corner Room Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Corner Room Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing