We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grace

Grace
Reserve with OpenTable
Grace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Congress
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visit this restaurant every summer. We love its bar, not just the drinks but its food and its physical structure. The restaurant is a restored church which has retained its stained glass windows and beautiful oak wood trim. it has two levels, the top one open to the first floor giving it a large and open feeling. The bar is large and is centrally located on the first floor. We always order a Grace burger. It is always cooked as ordered, medium rare, and delicious. The menu changes frequently but this is a staple item. This time we also ordered mussels in a creamy wine sauce. They were out of their shells and delicious with the rustic bread. I miss the beet salad with greens and feta and wish they would bring it back. The dining experience is special with a relaxed yet intimate atmosphere. The full menu includes some different entrees and ingredients for the more adventurous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MACTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    113
    44
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
420 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“More Graceful Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We came here last August and had a wonderful meal and re-visited yesterday and had another excellent meal. There were five of us - three had the Hangar steak, one the Prime Rib and the other the Chicken dish. All were very well presented and exceptionally tasty. The restaurant was near full but still the vast space made it a little bit soul-less. We would continue to recommend the restaurant for the quality of its food and attentive service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pike
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dining in a church!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This renovated church is a hip modern interior with the ambiance of the restored church. The menu is inventive and creative. The 20oz. Ribeye, while excellent was way too huge....could feed three!
The seafood was great and the service was outstanding. Mathis was a really fun place for a special dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic food, drinks, and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year in a row we have eaten dinner at Grace during our stay at our lake house in Maine. The restaurant is inside what used to be a church in the late 1800's so the ambiance is very cool. The food is unbelievable and the specialty drinks (try the Heated Affair with jalapeño infused tequila!) are delicious. The service at the bar took a while but our waitress at our table was great. The only other negative thing I can say is that the desserts are incredibly small, although good. Overall great dining experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agunn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A different dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our family of three really enjoyed a birthday dinner at Grace. The space is a church, with an open kitchen at the "altar" flanked by organ pipes. There is a soaring ceiling and they've kept the stained glass windows - quite remarkable renovation. Food was good, creative and lovely service. We tried the fish, lobster starter, gnoochi and other starters and they were all good. Our server did make a mistake when she put in the order for my starter and she not only apologized, but it didn't appear on the bill at the end.

A good meal in a great space.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grace also viewed

 

Been to Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing