We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
489
351
90
22
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
351
90
22
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenstudio suiteshipyard breweryold portsmall kitchenparking garagewithin walking distancewater viewfew blocksshort walkbreakfast was includedshops and restaurantseastern promenadeshuttle servicebagelsliving areaferry terminal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 986 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We are back in Portland all the time, so I tend to pick whichever hotel in the Old Port happens to be cheapest for each stay. This was our first time at the Residence and it was very good. It's within a couple of blocks of the Old Port and right on the bottom of the hill leading up to the Eastern Prom. If you walk up the hill, you end up at the perfect spot for gazing out into the Bay, checking out the islands, likely watching some wedding party photos (or even wedding) at the gazebo....Or walk out the door, towards the water & you're on the back cove trail in less than a minute. It's a little further out there than some of the other Old Port hotels, but it's still super convenient and the rooms are great-all have a kitchenette and many are suites. We've stayed in a regular studio (big) and a one bedroom -both are great. Be warned, there is construction going on right now (October 2013), so ask before you book a room if you'll be able to get one that is sheltered from the noise. The included breakfast is GREAT! Lots of offerings and updated regularly by the staff. And the coffee they keep out all day is much better than at some of the other local hotels. This is certainly on the return to list (depending on price, of course!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here in October, and had a lovely night's sleep in the very large comfortable bed in our apartment.

Staff we friendly and welcoming, and we liked the effort the hotel had gone to with the Halloween decorations - cobwebs decorated the lobby.

There was also a very reasonably priced laundrette.

The only thing we were a little bit disappointed with was the breakfast - my husband has stayed at Marriots frequently and said that the choice/quality is usually better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The barman in the the Residence Inn managed to undo in less than two minutes what all the other staff had done, building up a good experience. Walked into the bar at 10.30, he ignored us, served someone he obviously knew who normally stated at the Hilton, who came in after us and had the cheek to say "did we scare you off' as we left. Lousy customer service, Wonderful customer relationship skills, I think not, hopefully not endorsed by Marriot.

makes you want to stay at the `Hilton!! the service at the bar cannot be worse.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
9  Thank zimSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed Oct 13-14, 2013 in a king suite. Generous sized room with a living area and full (albeit small) kitchen with everything you need to actually prepare food. Staff was excellent and very helpful at all times. Gregg the bar tender was great too with lots of local advice, recommendations, and tips.

The parking garage is very convenient right across the street and the hotel rate of $12 carried us through 5PM on checkout day. The hotel is only a couple of blocks from the center of the action and was very quiet which was appreciated for sleeping.

All-in-all a great stay and I would highly recommend. Only a couple of nits - the main entrance is on the side of the building a little way up Fore St. It's not obvious based on the most traveled approach to the hotel. The included breakfast featured the standards (muffins, bagels, cereal, etc.) with the addition of scrambled eggs and turkey bacon/sausage which was appreciated. However, the cooked food was a bit bland like hospital food, but definitely filled us up and the price was right :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_Groton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Overall this was a good hotel, but if I were going back to Portland, I think I would book something closer to downtown.

The room that we were given when we checked in must have been the worst room in the hotel - first floor, right by the elevator, brick wall directly outside the window, and a high pitched ringing noise coming from somewhere on the first floor. We asked for another room and got a room on the third floor which was significantly better, looking out over their internal courtyard.

The rooms are nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. Amenities were pretty standard. It's a bit of a walk to downtown, but not terrible. We found a parking spot on the street so didn't have to pay for parking. It's right next to Shipyard brewery, which was fun to visit.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a higher floor, and you're not going to get a water view unless you pay for it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews