We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Being that this was my first trip to Maine, I had mixed reviews from friends and colleagues who visited Portland before. Overall, Portland was a cozy place with some many reasonably price and amazing eateries.
Now for the hotel, my fiance and I felt so comfortable at the hotel and it truly felt like a home away from home. The room was equipped with a full kitchen, so if you're adventurous and enjoy cooking, I definitely recommend this hotel. We found ourselves buying food/seafood at the Harbor Fish Market and various local markets, which is about a 7-10 minute walk - depending on if you're pacing at NYC speed or suburbia speed. The hotels are maintained very well and the staff make sure to clean the kitchen and the rooms. The location of the hotel is slightly further from the "touristy" area; however, everything is within walking distance, so we weren't bothered at all. We actually thought it was great to walk off/digest our meals back to the hotel. There is a Coffee by Design up the block and I highly recommend doing visiting the Shipyard Brewery, which also is right up the block, if not adjacent to the hotel.
The hotel provides breakfast, which was actually pretty good, so this was also a plus.

All in all, great location, great staff, great breakfast, parking next store for ~$6 a day, and there is also a pool and gym, which we didn't use but seemed pretty clean.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and for some reason had a ringing noise, I think it may have had som...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 940 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arrived via Amtrak train at 1pm w/res for 2 (1) br King rooms. Upon arrival, neither room avail for ck in. At 4 pm we arrived to 1 room facing brick wall & other a parking garage. I won't comment on what was found on bathroom floor, obviously not mopped. Front desk staff- poor. Pool is more like a large tub. The pull out couch in both rooms have a 3" mattress which was a huge complaint & extremely uncomfortable. Boston Bruins Stanley Cup ..... No game at hotel. They don't have this channel. Being from Boston & this is ME, it's a problem!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank heatherwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very spacious and very nice. Full kitchen will save you a lot of money. Complimentary breakfast was delicious. A lovely place and a good value in the heart of downtown. Also close to the Eastern Promenade For nice walks.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scovkolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a WONDERFUL stay here. We moved in the summertime to the Portland area and there was not a place to lease ANYWHERE. the Residence Inn became our home for 6+ weeks. It was a GREAT place for this time in our life. The staff was sooo attentive to anything that we needed and the coffee was always FRESH!! We have wonderful memories of our stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: We were up high with a view of the bay...... AWESOME
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didi959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We usually like a full blown Marriot Hotel so we took a chance on staying at this property and it paid off. We were able to walk almost every where in the historic port area, saw 3 large cruise ships dock outside our window and could also walk to most of the terrific restaurants. No restaurant on site, just a better than average continental breakfast buffet. However, the bar lounge was inviting, nice attentive staff and good location to watch weekend football on TV. Portland has so many interesting restaurants with all types of cuisine that you will be challenged for lunch and dinner plans! Portland Museum of Art well worth a visit. We did a long weekend Friday to Monday.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor have the best views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel was nice, in a great location. The staff was friendly and the parking fee was reaonable. Most comfortable hotel room I have stayed in in a long time! If i find myself in Portland again I will definitely be staying again!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank garnevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn Portland for 4 nights, a short vacation. It was a lovely stay, and we'd highly recommend it. The hotel is walking distance to all attractions. It's quiet, clean and pet friendly. Ask for a water view room, but remember, the sun rises pretty early in ME. Wafting in with the sea air, we could smell the enticing aroma from nearby Shipyard brews.

The staff were so very, very friendly and welcomed us and a small dog. We bring the dog on many trips, and are glad to see places, like Portland Res Inn, where they recognize a well trained pet is no intrusion, and having her with us is better than boarding her. I gave the value average b/c the hotel charged $100 pet deposit, yet we had the issue at check-in.

They gave great recommendations for eating and activities, we really can't call out one who was more friendly than another, each staff person, from maint to bartender to the front desk was smiling, friendly, and appeared to thoroughly enjoy his/her job.

When we first arrived, we were given a dog-room. Unfortunately, housekeeping missed a small bone on the floor. Although we tried to get it, our dog ate it! The front desk was apologetic, and spoke with housekeeping, honestly, don't know how the cleaner originally missed it because the rest room was very clean.

That said, the rest of the stay was wonderful. We would still highly recommend this hotel. Thank you Res Inn for a lovely vacation, we hope to go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront. Ask the staff where they like to eat, and what to try.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaMfromHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $160 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing