We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations in dowtown Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment we pulled into the lobby, I had that feeling of satisfaction that comes with making the right decision. Nicely laid out public areas. Staff at the desk were very nice and helpful. The room was spacious -- great to have a separate living/kitchen area. Nice to have 2 TVs. The breakfast was really good. Real eggs. Make-your-own waffles (daughter was very happy).

Not sure about the complaints I've read on parking (literally across the street). And, the walk to Old Port is easy. More like 5-10 minutes (15 if a stroll). You don't need the shuttle - unless it is raining or you have mobility issues. Portland is a great town, and this hotel is well suited to take advantage of all that it offers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beyondexit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 968 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It's walking distance to wonderful restaurants downtown. The staff is the friendliest I have ever seen at a hotel. They were helpful and had some great restaurant recommendations. I am a Silver Elite member with Marriott, so my room had fresh holiday cookies waiting for me when I checked in. I was also upgraded to a spacious suite that I absolutely loved. I will definitely plan to stay here next time I am in Portland.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiveMePalmTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were very pleased with the accommodations and the location of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was a nice touch. Only issue for us was having a cold shower. After calling the front desk the issue was corrected within 15 mins. The technician mentioned the issue was due to heavy consumption. Not sure that sits well with us as I wonder what will happen when the hotel is at capacity. We really want to go back there but are a bit cautious due to the hot water issue. By the way, we travel there frequently as our son, daughter in law and grandbaby live in S. Portland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prczog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Marriott's Residence Inn in downtown Portland is within walking distance of so much of what Portland's waterfront area has to offer. The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations at every turn. Lack of on-site parking was a bit of an inconvenience (the covered garage is just across the street from the hotel and does result in an additional fee) but not a deal breaker for us. We plan on returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location-a short walk to everything but far enough away from all the hustle and bustle. The waterfront view is spectacular and worth the upgrade-try to get room #513. There's no room service but a buffet breakfast every morning and a bar to relax in. Parking is in the parking deck across the street. We parked the car when we arrived and didn't need it again until we left. It's about 15 minutes to the airport and easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront room--try to get room 513. It has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Overall this was a really nice location. Rooms were clean, lobby well maintained, and the staff was very helpful. It is the furthest from downtown of all of the downtown hotels. It is in the backyard of the Shipyard brewery, so if you enjoy the aromas then this is the place for you.

Be aware that you need to order a scenic view to get one... The suites do not have any water views!!! They are nice rooms, but you end up looking at the garage or inner courtyard.

Room Tip: Only studio rooms have scenic views (scenic meaning not of the garage, brewery or courtyard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hehasawifeyouknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Whenever I need to spend an evening for an early morning training or a meeting, this is the only hotel I consider staying at in the Portland area. It is a true pleasure; clean, quiet and very convenient. The pricing is on the higher side of Residence Inn's range, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMaineCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $89 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing