We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just got back today from three nights in Portland. We stayed at the Residence Inn because of the reviews, the fact there are small kitchens in the rooms and the pool. Pluses are for the location and the relatively clean rooms. We also received a great recommendation from the desk where to take our 10-year old son sledding. Minuses: cheesy bed linens on the sofa bed. They were nearly transparent. The pool, which was a major reason for our staying there was fine on the first day. I did notice hair balls and band aids , but tried to wave it off since it is a busy place. On our last night we wanted to have a swim after dinner. We found a large area of soap scum floating on the pool surface. We brought this to the attention of the front desk close to 7:30 pm. We did not go in, but we were hopeful that the pool could be cleaned up by the morning. At 8:30am the pool looked even worse, more hair floating, scum, etc. I mentioned it to the nice person who gave me the sledding recommendation. He said that it would take a while to get the pool cleaned up and that there was no maintenance over the weekend (!!!!!). Perhaps they were no health or safety issues with the condition of the pool, but it was really disgusting with cloudy water and things floating on the surface. Someone should have done something within that 13 hour period or close it off for swimming. I doubt that we will ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    295
    70
    16
    27
See reviews for
198
384
33
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Really nice hotel, friendly people, somebody in the lobby to help you with your plans, it was on the expensive side but I wasn't paying so I did not care. Really good breakfast as well, hot and you can even wrap some of it up if you want to. It's right next to the water and Shipyard brewery

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pressemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We explicitly requested a pet free room and it was on our reservation. We arrived at midnight. The guy at the front desk said that we had to be in a pet room because we were on the govt. rate. He must have said those words with distaste six times, as if bring a teacher or a member of the military was a crime. He would not budge, so after calling ahead, having it on our reservation no pets, and driving four hours we turned around and went home. The rudest treatment I've ever had. Next time ill stay in a hilton

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Key2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westford, ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 2 years for business and its simply great. Staff if friendly, rooms are always clean, nice quiet bar and good free am breakfast (included in price) and super location to all the great dining on fore street.

I typically travel here with my wife and 2 year old and they use the pool and the free shuttle to get around while I am at work. Great kids museum nearby among other things for families.

Get the double room with kids, 2 bed rooms and a living room much better than a connecting room and price is reasonable most nights.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very nice hotel - clean and comfortable. We had a water view room which looks out on the highly industrial port. Fun to watch the activity from the window. Parking was convenient and $12 for our overnight stay. Walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Complementary breakfast was very nice and included a hot buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solstice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Solo trip to Portland to visit family. Short taxi drive from airport to Residence Inn. Early flight into Portland but was graciously accommodated for early check-in. Friendly staff helped with all questions, arrangement of rental car, directions, restaurant reservations. Suite was more than adequate with kitchen and bath supplies. Clean and very comfortable. I found the location very convenient to the Old Port section of the city. Very 'walkable' even late at night as a single. Always activity going on in the city. One block away from the Bay and I mention this not for the views because those aren't great but for the convenience of the Ferrys, if you want to explore other areas. Lodging value was a bit on the high side but it is in the city and in a good location. I rented a car only for one day to go leaf 'peeping' so didn't have the cost of the parking garage. Didn't really need a car for exploring the city. I will say if you enjoy Craft Beers and good grub this is a fantastic pub city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Only stayed for two nights, clean modern building offering the usual Residence Inn welcome..

The good....Large suites with everything you could wish for to make a pleasant stay..complimentary breakfast is enough to keep you going..friendly staff and everywhere spic and span...
The Bad....very expensive compared with some others in the chain we have stayed in, parking in the multi story next door is $12 per day and the hotel is a little out of the centre of Portland to make the surroundings feel a little remote...looks like the area will all be renewed over the next few years so should make a difference..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluke831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing