We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with Contemporary Feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decent room for a two night stay. Typical newer Residence Inn Hotel Room. Complimentary Breakfast. Walking distance to restaurants and cafes. Taxis readily available. Stay was for business, wouldn't recommend paying the high prices had I been visiting the area on vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTravlerJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 958 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our second year of booking a 2 bedroom suite at the Residence Inn and couldn't be happier. Plenty of room for us four women. The hotel is incredibly clean, the cost, we felt, was a deal (@$512/4 for 2 nights!) Parking is a bit aggrevating that you have to pay $12/day but after reading another post that the average is $31...not complaining any more. Recommend using free shuttle to get to your location in the evening but if the weather is not too cold, walk back. We were in Moument Square and Fore Street and was about a 10 minute walk. For a weekend such as this view is not important but can see how some may have an issue with it. Special shout outs to Emin at the bar - We were pleasantly surprised to see him still there this year and Bill the shuttle driver. Appreciate you all putting up with us and we will see you next year!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked a suite to use as a base of operation to celebrate a friends birthday, visit the Portland Museum and to sample some of Portland's best restaurants. The hotel is ideally located for walking tours of the old port area, shopping and restaurant going. Micucci's is just around the corner for great Italian groceries and wines. Our suite was lovely - a living/dining/and kitchen area flanked by two bedrooms and two baths. The kitchen was full size with all the appliances one has at home and it was furnished with all the china, silver and cooking utensils one would need to prepare entire meals. The staff were lovely and accomodating (we needed an extra blanket) and we discovered that the hotel has a shuttle that takes guests to places of interest and restaurants that are a little too far away to walk to.
Bill dropped us off at Emilista's and picked us up several hours later to take us back to the hotel. This is a great value in a great area of Portland.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel has checked most every box. The mattresses are great. The wi fii is strong. The bar is fun. There is a nice fireplace that adds some ambiance to the lobby. The rooms are well appointed (although a little smaller than I anticipated.) There is a pretty extensive kitchenette. However, a family would be tight in the space. The fitness center has ample high end equipment.

Still, for north of $250 per night, I expected a little bit more. For example, there is no valet parking. This means, you drop your luggage off in the front and then drive a block to a garage and self park. You come back, you find a luggage cart and take your luggage to your room. Not a big deal, but kind of a pain. The breakfast area had no tables free so we either had to stand and eat our breakfast or carry it to our room. The breakfast choices were pretty much your standard: powered eggs, bagel, juice, etc. Nothing special. The location is fine. However, both Hilton properties are more centrally located.

For half the price, I would have loved this hotel. I just had a hard time paying high end prices and getting a normal Residence Inn. Because they are cheaper and have a slightly better location, I think I would have gone Hilton if I had to do it again. I just don't think this place really shows why it is worth the extra price. However, it is a great place to stay and there are many things to like about the property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnotherHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

At $300+ a night it might have been just OK. The Portland Harbor Hotel where we like to stay was booked and cheaper. I really like luxurious boutique hotels so was surprised at how nice the room was. Not luxurius but clean and modern. The staff was great was excellent and that is always a plus. Pay the extra for a room with a view. It was so nice to watch the cruise ships and other vessels coming and going. On the edge of the old port not as convenient as the Portland Harbor or Regency but it was fine. The big negative was parking in the garage next door for an additional $12 a night.

Room Tip: Upper floor with water view away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canddlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in the Residence Inn Waterfront twice in our recent trip to Maine since it is very convenient to the Portland airport. On the first leg of our trip, we had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the harbor. The room was beautiful and the view even better. We asked Barbara, the concierge, for dinner suggestions and she was wonderfully helpful, even letting us know that the hotel van could drop us off and pick us up. All of the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the hotel and will stay again. If your group is very rowdy, there are posted notices that there is a 10pm noise curfew and that the hotel will evict particulary noisy guests. I don't know what caused the notice but it is posted in the lobby and elevators.

We did not particularly like the breakfast buffet but noticed that many people were enjoying it so it may be our tastebuds. The hotel is within walking distance to the Old Port with it's shops and restaurants and we did not have any worries about being there after dark as has been noted in a few reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvangelineJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is very clean, quiet, and nice Residence Inn we have become used to stay at when we travel. The location is a bit far from downtown shops and restaurants to walk, especially after dark, not heavily travelled. However it is a very short drive, and street parking becomes free after 6:00 pm.

We enjoyed the hot breakfast, very good variety. One down side is that the parking is across the street in a separate garage. Why didn't they build a parking structure below the hotels? A lot of the Courtyard or Residence Inn we've stayed at had that. Parking is $12 per night, typical for waterfront or downtown locations. Allow extra time if you have luggage to unload/load, pull up to the small semi circle before parking your car.

First hote I've seen with a quiet hours posted. Must be a NE thing, because the second night, a Fairfield Inn also had a posted quiet hours sign.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland - Old Port
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $110 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing