We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Leominster, MA
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed at the Residence Inn Portland, ME on the weekend of March 10th. The rooms were very spacious and having the full kitchen area was a definite plus. The pool and fitness room were also a very nice touch to have for me to relax and get a good workout in. The staff was very accomodating and friendly and were very helpful when I had questions about what to do in town and where to eat. There was a sports group staying here during this time and they were very loud and disrupting. The staff did what they could to try and leviate the situation and I was happy about that. Overall this is an excellent hotel and in a good location and the staff made it a wonderful experience. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone that asked me where to stay in Portland, ME.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    336
    83
    18
    31
See reviews for
226
438
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last weekend with my daughter and granddaughter. It was wonderful. Clean with a great location and super-friendly employees. The staff seemed to love my beautiful granddaughter as much as I do! The only trouble was a large group of unruly kids. They were loud and obnoxious and their parents didn't seem to care what they did. One of the kids even took a bite of food from the breakfast buffet and threw it back into the buffet pan! Disgusting! Thank goodness an employee saw it and removed the tray right away.
Despite that kids were playing hockey in the hallway while the parents we watching them with full cocktails in their hands...I would still recommend this lovely place! The employees did an awesome job in keeping everyone happy!!

Room Tip: Any room would be amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay here recently. The hotel was better than expected. The hotel staff were wonderful and went out of the way to accomodate us. They even had a van to take us to area restaurants and pick us up when finished. That was very helpful since it was a rainy day. The rooms were clean, large and well designed. The breakfast was great and the staff were very cheerful. The pool and excerise area were great, and since we had children, was a wonderfull way to entertain them. The hotel was about a block from the Old Port; short enough to walk and long enough to enjoy the quiet.

Overall, the staff were professional and personable. This Residence Inn was the best that we had experienced and definitely the best in Portland. I would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I spent 1 night at this hotel recently while on a business trip. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful - giving me several recommendations for dinner that night. The restaurant where I had dinner had been described perfectly by the woman at the front desk. They even have a shuttle service that will take you to dinner and pick you up when you are finished eating! The room was immaculate. The bed was as comfortable as any I have ever slept on. Breakfast in the morning was very good. There were plenty of choices from scrambled eggs to oatmeal to waffles served by several very friendly and attentive ladies. I will certainly stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: There were no water views available during my stay, but my room with a courtyard view was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeverLostWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend with my wife. Hotel was new, very clean, and the rooms were modern compared to other residence inns I have stayed at. We had friends who stayed at the portland harbor hotel and while their rooms were nice, their hotel felt like a retirement home. Found my place to stay the next time I'm in portland. The only thing I could pick on is that they are about 4 blocks off the beaten path. We had a great weather weekend so we enjoyed the walking.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLubas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

This particular Residence Inn was not only the best Residence Inn I have ever stayed at, but it is by far the best Hotel in Portland. The views were outstanding, and the hotel is brand new and extremely clean. My wife and I stayed last weekend and found the staff to be incredibly helpful. We were on a floor with an unruly group of parents and kids from a youth hockey team. We called down to complain about the noise and they sent someone right up to help. After multiple requests by the staff for the parents not to drink alcohol in the hall and allow their children to play hockey in the hall, we witnessed them being abusive to the staff, and an all around classless bunch. It was pretty obvious these were the type of people who were not accustomed to staying at a higher end hotel. Fortunately for us, they were escorted out of the hotel by police. We thought the staff did an outstanding job in a very difficult situation and should be commended. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveB63Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My experience at ths hotel was by far the worse I have ever had. The staff was stalking our group the entire weekend. They are not family friendly at all. The staff stalked me and my child just about everywhere I went, from just walking down the hallway to being in the pool swimming. They proceeded to give us dirty looks everywhere we went. When voicing a concern, the staff would give attitude and often use language that was not appropriate. If you are looking for a place for your family to stay, this is not the location!!!!

The roooms are nice and clean. The housekeeping staff was very friendly. Those are the only two good things I can say at this time about this hotel. If there was a change in attitude and staff, then this would be a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HockeyMom91205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing