We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend in Portland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
new hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great weekend in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Nice, new hotel. Love the style of the rooms, very trendy. Breakfast was great, coffee all the time. Nice work to the Old Port and waterfront. Good location.

Room Tip: Water view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cacrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    321
    76
    16
    29
See reviews for
212
414
36
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

The rooms were by far the smallest of any Residence Inn we have ever stayed in. If you don't pay extra for a water view be prepared to look at dirty tarred roofs of industrial buildings. The cleaning staff we encountered had horrible attitudes. We had to completely remake our bed as the mattress pad was scrunched in the middle of the bed. Towels are nothing more than rags, thin and dirty looking. Took a shower and was ankle deep in water from clogged drain. Beware of dog friendly policy. No size limitation. We saw St. Bernard and other really large dogs staying here. Altogether not a pleasant experience and will not return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndreB672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

The downtown Portland of today is a vastly different place from the one I grew up in. Wow. It is a really modern and pleasant place and this hotel is one element of this transformation. The facility is very new, clean and nice. Our room on the top floor gave us a nice view of the water and cruise line terminal. The room was clean and the modern decor is well put together. Overall a pleasant place to stay. I did not give this the best score for a couple minor nuisances. When was reserved our room, the reservation agent represented to us that we could check in before 3pm so that our young kids could nap and even offered a pack'n play (which we declined). When we arrived around noon, the desk agent told us categorically that we could not check in before 3pm and that reservation agent had misrepresented this fact to us. We've stayed at many hotels and have had other establishments accommodate early check in. I'm surprised that the Marriott was not able to be similarly flexible. Needless to say, without a nap for the kids, we were not able to enjoy a nice dinner out as the children needed to go to bed earlier than usual. Lastly, the main check in entrance is poorly designed as it is not wide enough to accommodate two vehicles side-by-side which leads to long wait times to pull into the semicircle driveway to unload. This location would not be my top choice in the waterfront area as there are other options.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FriendshipSloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night a couple of weeks ago. Very clean, very tidy. Quality, inclusive breakfast. We had two rooms and both couples enjoyed. Used the exercise room and pool, all very smart and well cared for. Good easy walking to the Old Port part of town. Parking in adjacent parking lot a little quirky but nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leavinghomeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great place to stay. Full kitchen, great staff, nice pool and hot tub, close to everything. A little pricey but worth it overall.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethelfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

WE recently spent 2 nites at the residence inn downtown in portland. We very much enjoyed the friendly staff, especially mary in the eating area and the friendly shuttle drivers. The hotel is right on the waterfront and near a surprisingly active downtown. The shuttle drove us to and from a nice lobster house in spite of rainy conditions. The rooms were new and comfortable - this was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: need to request a 2 room suite for 3 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fbraselton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was a perfect Fall getaway. The Hotel is only two years old and sparkels. The staff was friendly, and willing to grant any request. The rooms are spacious and clean, and it is a 10 minute walk for the Old Port, a part of town that reminds one of parts of Seattle with is proximity to the ocean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Brewery behind the hotel that can be noisy in the weekday mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdfbu96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
0.4 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 145 Fore St, Portland, ME 04101-4810
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing