We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Portland
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

A real nice place to stay. They have a shuttle that will pick you up at the airport, bus stop or train station. As far as local eating places, there is a Denny's, McDonalds, Amatos, close by. A grocery store about 3 blocks away. I have no complaints about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdrivealotMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    256
    156
    56
    39
See reviews for
195
285
48
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

After searching a bit on the web, we also found the hotels in Portland Maine to be very overpriced. However, after changing our dates a bit and choosing to end our trip to Maine on a Sunday night before an early morning flight out on Monday, we got a great deal on this hotel. The room was really nice, stylishly contemporary, and clean. Our king bed was very comfortable. We found the front desk staff and the the housekeeper to be very helpful, offering free shuttles and dinner suggestions. Coffee and a nice breakfast in the lobby is also an added bonus.

The hotel is in a good central location, especially if you are flying out of Portland. It is only a couple of miles from the airport and fifteen minutes to the Old Port area of town. Thankfully it is also out of the airport flight path, and very close but not next to I-295. This is mixed use part of town that doesn’t offer great water views or lots of restaurants or attractions within walking distance, but we were simply not willing to pay the prices for a mediocre hotel in the midst of the street life of Old Port.

We had a fourth floor smoking room. Choose another floor if you are averse to the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway. We were very thankful not to be relegated to some smoking outpost on the edge of the property as is so often the case these days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I were taking a surf trip up the coast and we decided to take a few nights in a hotel. We wanted to experience the city of Portland and prices in the area were outrageous. This La Quinta was priced at 130 and we expected a VERY lovely room for that. The room was adequate with a clean and comfortable bed. But the floor was old and the shower had someone els's hair on the floor. That wasn't great. But coming from being in a tent for a week it was still nice to have a shower. The best part was their customer service. We had big paddle boards that we didn't want to leave on our car and two of their front desk people helped us tremendously finding us a place to leave them while we slept. Thank you for your hospitality. I forget their names but it was a man and a woman at the desk who were incredibly helpful. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JussyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I don't generally like to write bad reviews, but even if the hotel can't do much better you can do much better to go elsewhere. I wish I had chosen a different motel. I was strapped for cash, but the sticky rugs, mediocre-at-best service, stained ceilings, noisy guests/room location, and bizarre oil.petroleum smell coming through the window made my night very unpleasant and wasn't worth the low cost. It seems the hotel is located across a milk processing plant? Anyway, although my room claimed to be non-smoking I could smell the stale cigarette smell in the air. When I opened the window for some fresh air, the air outside smelled like diesel. And I'm pretty sure a few guests were having domestic disputes. Hotel location is strange and staff seemed apathetic at best. Spend the extra $20-50 and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnoftheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, ny
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Good service and friendly staff. Room was clean and well maintained. Location provides access to I-295 and is only 15 minutes from the Old port are of Portland. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BillBuffalo_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We went to Portland to catch my parents as they docked for the day on their cruise. It was also our anniversary. The hotel was convenient to the area (only 2-3 miles from the docks) and just off of I295. The room was clean and had a microwave and small refrigerator. The entryway and bathroom had hardwood floors. The only complaint would be that the coffee had not been refilled, but was quickly taken care of with a phone call and it was a single serving coffee maker, so ahd to wait to make the second cup. The free breakfast was adequate, but the room was small 6-8 tables. Staff was pleasant. Very nice stay for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I drove here & picked up friends at the airport, about 2 miles away. The front desk staff was helpful with directions & restaurant suggestions. Rooms were fine with microwave, frig, & coffeemaker. Long walk (30 minutes) to downtown--not good for single woman. Nice continental breakfast with waffles

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#16 of 20 in Portland
583 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#15 of 20 in Portland
1,635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 20 in Portland
1,392 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing