We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet and good value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“clean, quiet and good value for the price”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

For the price one cannot expect 4 star accommodations. But the La Quinta Portland came through in all the aspects that are most important for me. The room was clean and very quiet (second floor facing parking lot), linens and towels were fresh and housekeeping did their work each day. The location is also conveniently close to things to see and do in the center of Portland. The free breakfast is better than many others I've had in places that were more expensive. There was a waffle maker, bagels, toast, boiled eggs, cold cereals, yoghurt, coffee and orange juice and, more importantly, the breakfast room was clean. The ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryEE49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    246
    155
    56
    37
See reviews for
191
271
45
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard.
Across the street from a milk distribution facility.
Clean.
My son gave the waffles 5 stars (he's four). About breakfast, are those real Cheerios? They say they are, but seem like they're off-brand. All breakfast prepared off-site and warmed up on-site.
Fine for a hotel that doesn't cost $300 like others closer to downtown. Their shuttle van doesn't take you downtown.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jmv227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This may be a hard review to go off of because frankly I was totally unhappy with my whole portland experience. The people, food, shops, hotel was all overpriced and mediocre including the la Quinta. Cheapest hotel we could find even then it's still almost $200 a night. Not a happy tourist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's one of the cheaper hotels that's within a 10 min drive to downtown Portland so you can't expect greatness. We had a non-smoking room but the whole 4th floor reeks of cigarette smoke, so the smell seeped into our room. Some chairs have staining, the bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been. But like I said you can't expect greatness from a place like this. It was mediocre and served its purpose for the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,Ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good location for sightseeing in Portland, ME; friendly helpful staff; good breakfast - food & hours. accessible parking; restaurants, attractions within easy walking distance; maps and newspaper available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed one night in Portland at La Quinta, with our well behaved, fastidious dogs. We had a good stay and felt we received good value. We had a pleasant room that was clean, well appointed, and comfortable. Heating and cooling was efficient and relatively quiet. We slept very well. The bathroom is somewhat on the small side, but adequate. Check in was easy and quick. The hotel provides a morning breakfast which is not impressive, but it gave us coffee, yogurt, and some adequate bagels to begin the day with. All in all, we thought once again that La Quinta offers a clean, reasonably priced stay that is relatively close to Portland's downtown area and restaurants. Hadlock field, home of the Portland Seadogs is close by. This is a good choice if you are visiting Portland and would like to sleep comfortably without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: The hotel will welcome you and your pets without a fuss or additional charges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontpelierGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, NY
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stay at a lot of La Quinta Inns and Suites and find them better than similar chains with similar rates. This one is in a marginal neighborhood, though close to the highway. Walking to restaurants is dicey and there were lapses in service that might be tolerated at the weekly rate, but were not acceptable on the weekend rate that made it one of the most expensive places we've ever stayed. Worn towels, a shampoo cap found in the tub, stained desk chair, room not serviced one day, all indicate lack of attention to detail which is not welcome at any price, but at $150 for a weekend night? Not at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing