We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Location but Not So Great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Portland
North Tonawanda, NY
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Location but Not So Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stay at a lot of La Quinta Inns and Suites and find them better than similar chains with similar rates. This one is in a marginal neighborhood, though close to the highway. Walking to restaurants is dicey and there were lapses in service that might be tolerated at the weekly rate, but were not acceptable on the weekend rate that made it one of the most expensive places we've ever stayed. Worn towels, a shampoo cap found in the tub, stained desk chair, room not serviced one day, all indicate lack of attention to detail which is not welcome at any price, but at $150 for a weekend night? Not at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    238
    151
    56
    37
See reviews for
180
263
45
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Or if you don't mind driving a bit. I'll admit I'm spoiled in that I usually have been able to stay near downtown, however the weekend I stayed here other places were booked. This place was perfectly clean, the staff were fine, and the breakfast is an awesome perk. Just, not the greatest location for a weekend downtown when nobody wants to drive. :-)

The rooms were modern-ish though not extremely cozy or welcoming. Id stay here again if I had to, though its definitely not my first choice in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Needed a Hotel quick! All Hotels in the entire State of Maine were booked for Labor Day weekend. Hotels.com had rooms available here. Good room. Good service. I stayed for the free breakfast...I always sleep in. But the thought is what counts - If I could only wake up on time! They had my reservation. I've never stayed in a La Quinta before. Have you tried the shampoo? Creamsicle fragrance...I almost had shampoo for dinner! Yumm!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank micheal211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend a couple of days in Portland after spending a week with family in northern Maine. Was not excited about the downtown hotel prices so came across the La Quinta a couple of miles away. Very clean and nice and is really just a short drive to southport. While in Portland my wife and I did a great beer tour and decided to take a cab so we wouldn't have to worry about how much beer we drank. The friendly front desk was able to set it up for us and it was only 8 dollars to get down there and 8 dollars to get back. Well worth the price and ease.

I would stay at this hotel again. The only thing that was a bit of a problem was that breakfast ran our kind of quick but I don't blame the hotel for that. We were on vacation and wanted to sleep late.

Also it is very easy to get to the interstate from the hotel and made our trip down to Boston to catch our plane very easy.

Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeerROx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotels in Portland are amazingly expensive! The Laquinta was the best deal I found, 189 night, with free parking and free breakfast. It was a couple of miles away from downtown but after I factored in the higher rates for hotels in that area, plus the fee for parking, the Laquinta was a much better deal. Cabs to/from the hotel to downtown were approx. $10.00 each way. The room was clean, good size and efficient. We didn't have time to use the pool which was a shame, our room overlooked it and it looked very nice.
We did take advantage of the free breakfast which is what you expect, including the make your own waffle machine which I love. Interaction with the staff was limited but they were all very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMGBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We needed a hotel very last minute during Labor Day Weekend. Not only did La Quinta have rooms available, but they were super flexible when we wanted to upgrade to a "suite" so we could have a bigger bed. The hotel is just out of town, and is way more affordable because of it. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swarren5652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

First, the only thing "hood" about this place is the Hood Dairy plant across the street. After reading reviews I was worried this would be in a seedy area, however it felt safe and I was not worried at all about my car in the lot. It's just in a bit of an industrial area. Our room was mostly clean and nicely appointed. I say mostly because there was some black mold in the tub area, and a pretty active spiderweb going on in the corner of the shower. Also there was some water damage by the window with peeling paint that looked a little gnarly. It suited our needs which was a place to crash for the night after spending some time in the Old Port. The cab to the Old Port was about $7 and the front desk very nicely called one for us. We would stay again for the night when looking for a value friendly Portland hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethyB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing