We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OK for a quick stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I am rather neutral on this property. A few pros, a few cons. We only stayed over for a night, so I do not have any major complaints. I guess I would say it is good for a quick stop over, but not so much for a destination hotel in Portland. The pros are that the bed was very comfortable, the rooms were quiet, and we had a great sleep. The cons are the room was a bit "tired". The couch was severely stained, and I was a bit creeped out to sit on it without laying a towel down. The desk chair was the same. We did use the pool to cool down as we were staying there during the record breaking heat wave! The pool area was clean, as well as the pool. The free continental breakfast was adequate, but I have seen better. As I started out, ok as a quick stop over, but do not look for any glorious amenities here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLike2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    249
    155
    56
    37
See reviews for
193
279
46
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A little out of the way from the most popular tourist spots, but does result in a quieter location and free parking. Very friendly staff. We had our little dog with us and had no issues with our pet-friendly room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NileCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I think most reviewers are accurate in their review of this property. The best words I can use to describe it are decent and sufficient. It's reasonably priced compared to many hotels in Portland, and the location isn't bad at all. It's right down the street from the Portland Sea Dogs baseball stadium, which makes for a nice evening after walking around the Old Port all day. You do need to drive to get to the sights in the Old Port, though, so it may not be a good choice if you don't have a car. The drive isn't far but it's not walkable. Breakfast was very good! They offer waffles, bagels, cereal, hardboiled eggs and muffins, along with coffee and juice. The dining room gets crowded quickly though, so seating can be tight. I thought the people at the front desk were friendly and helpful, and they provided a map as well as suggestions for restaurants and sights. Portland has a ton of fancy restaurants for a city so small.
The room was sufficient. Inside it was definitely smoke-free, but the hallways did have a slight lingering smoke smell. The bed was comfortable and the room had a really nice flat screen TV. One recent review said there weren't refrigerators in the rooms but we had one in ours. The bathroom could use an upgrade. I never understand why some hotels don't have fans in the bathrooms. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. I don't think it's worth paying $100 a night more to say in the waterfront area when you can drive down Congress Street to get there in less than five minutes.

Room Tip: It is pet friendly (like many places in Maine), so expect to see a dog or two lying around in the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a nice hotel. Reasonable price. They picked us quickly from the airport and the driver was very helpful and a nice guy. Check-in no problem. It didn't seem to be very close for walking to restaurants for us but I looked up a Chinese Restaurant that delivered. We got something with lobster and scallops that was good. It was a couple of blocks away. This hotel was perfect for what we wanted. Rather than rush at night to the relatives further north, we were able to get a rental car away from the airport at about half the price. Enterprise staff was very nice. We will do this again. Definitely.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem, ask for a quiet room. We heard nothing during the night except an occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Good basic clean motel that has a good location just a few miles from the waterfront. Very helpful and service oriented staff. A train is nearby that for light sleepers will be a problem. Sports facilities are nearby that could be a traffic problem on nights of games. Overall very clean and efficiently run.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank boldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Portland. It was a mixed bag as far as hotels go. Some of the staff members were very friendly and helpful, while others were not. One girl at the front desk in particular really seemed to hate her job and was very unhelpful. The maid staff was also unfriendly. The continental breakfast was pretty decent. It wasn't exceptional, but it was solid and I don't think there was anything about it to complain about. The room was also middling. The bed was actually quite comfortable, one of the better hotel beds I have stayed in. However, the bathroom was not great. The toilet had absolutely no suction, and you often had to flush it three times in order to get it to flush. In fact, it was so bad that we had to order a plunger from the front desk. The shower was okay, neither great nor awful. The room seemed to be kept fairly clean. There were no refrigerators in the rooms, and the rooms had a slight odor to them. The location of the hotel was excellent, with great access to downtown Portland and the two Portland sports teams. Of course, that was also a bit of a disadvantage, because the hotel sells their extra parking spaces for baseball parking, and so parking can be an issue during baseball games. Overall, you get what you pay for, and this is a distinctly average hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

we stayed one night in August 2012, coming from the Dallas area. When going to the front desk, the girl saw us (we are from India originally) and decided to walk away from the front desk pretending to do some work in a back area. She would not even check us in. So I stood there for about 3-5 minutes and luckily another girl (black girl) walked by and saw that the other one (white girl) was not interested in talking to us. Then, the black girl checked us in. We go to our room and the A/C was not working at all. We tried to make it start but the same level air was coming on. We wanted to switch rooms but the white girl gave us an attitude and said that it was all we could do and no room switch was allowed. We wanted a refund but she said no. The hotel itself is very crowded, no place to park, old and run down as are so many things in the New England are. Why don't people build new things there?? My dad, who was traveling with me, said he noticed the white girl was giving people a hard time on the phone as well, pretending not to understand their English. Why does LQ hire such racist people? She was a college girl, redhead. Then I called their number trying to talk to a district manager who never returned the voicemail. Stay away from this horrendous place, huge ripoff at a huge price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank North T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 19 in Portland
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,368 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing