We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Little More Than It Will Do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Portland
dallas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Little More Than It Will Do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Good basic clean motel that has a good location just a few miles from the waterfront. Very helpful and service oriented staff. A train is nearby that for light sleepers will be a problem. Sports facilities are nearby that could be a traffic problem on nights of games. Overall very clean and efficiently run.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank boldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    216
    144
    51
    35
See reviews for
159
241
42
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Portland. It was a mixed bag as far as hotels go. Some of the staff members were very friendly and helpful, while others were not. One girl at the front desk in particular really seemed to hate her job and was very unhelpful. The maid staff was also unfriendly. The continental breakfast was pretty decent. It wasn't exceptional, but it was solid and I don't think there was anything about it to complain about. The room was also middling. The bed was actually quite comfortable, one of the better hotel beds I have stayed in. However, the bathroom was not great. The toilet had absolutely no suction, and you often had to flush it three times in order to get it to flush. In fact, it was so bad that we had to order a plunger from the front desk. The shower was okay, neither great nor awful. The room seemed to be kept fairly clean. There were no refrigerators in the rooms, and the rooms had a slight odor to them. The location of the hotel was excellent, with great access to downtown Portland and the two Portland sports teams. Of course, that was also a bit of a disadvantage, because the hotel sells their extra parking spaces for baseball parking, and so parking can be an issue during baseball games. Overall, you get what you pay for, and this is a distinctly average hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank virginiagamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we stayed one night in August 2012, coming from the Dallas area. When going to the front desk, the girl saw us (we are from India originally) and decided to walk away from the front desk pretending to do some work in a back area. She would not even check us in. So I stood there for about 3-5 minutes and luckily another girl (black girl) walked by and saw that the other one (white girl) was not interested in talking to us. Then, the black girl checked us in. We go to our room and the A/C was not working at all. We tried to make it start but the same level air was coming on. We wanted to switch rooms but the white girl gave us an attitude and said that it was all we could do and no room switch was allowed. We wanted a refund but she said no. The hotel itself is very crowded, no place to park, old and run down as are so many things in the New England are. Why don't people build new things there?? My dad, who was traveling with me, said he noticed the white girl was giving people a hard time on the phone as well, pretending not to understand their English. Why does LQ hire such racist people? She was a college girl, redhead. Then I called their number trying to talk to a district manager who never returned the voicemail. Stay away from this horrendous place, huge ripoff at a huge price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank North T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms are really nice (especially considering the price) and the beds are comfortable. The access to a mini-fridge and microwave is always appreciated, especially since there is a Save-a-lot grocery 5-10 minutes from the hotel. Breakfast was included although it is offered in a rather small room considering the size of the hotel so it gets crowded. We really appreciated our stay : the only inconvenience we encountered was that the toilet was leaking, but other than that it was just fine :) !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tijana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
301 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in this motel twice going up Hwy. 1 and then back. The first time we stayed in room 327 which was perfectly fine. The only observations the first time was, why would you put wood floors in the bath room? And the elevator was slow. On the way back we didn't have a reservation but thought this motel was OK the first time, so got a room here again. We stayed in room 124.OMG! The room had the smell of a wet dog! I know this is a pet friendly motel but please! Next time I will ask before checking in. They had a nice breakfast area and for the most part the staff was friendly. My suggestion would be if you stay here don't get a room on the first floor unless you have pets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

First of all, we were checked in by a very handsome and friendly receptionist. Our room was very clean and the beds and linens were very comfortable. We had a refrigerator and microwave in-room. Although not a waterfront property, you can't beat the rates. Breakfast was great. Could not ask for anything more. Again, we salute the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Carrie244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Newly renovated rooms go along way. The lobby and building are bland and typical. The location is fine. But at least the room was new and nicely put together. The bed and linens were fresh and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidgraywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing