We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love staying at La Quinta in Portland, Maine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    212
    141
    51
    33
See reviews for
154
233
42
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We've stayed at several different La Quinta Inns. One was new and nice and the others were older, slightly shabby, but clean. The staff at this La Quinta was very nice. I arrived early, the check-in person had my room made up and it was ready within 15 mins. I had a smoking, pet friendly king bed room. Upon entering the room, I first noticed the cheap faux wood floor in the entry/sink area. It was understandably damp and smelled strongly of cleaner. When the floor dried, it was sticky to walk on. Next was the LOUD humming of the refrigerator. The outlet was behind the dresser so I couldn't unplug it, though maybe I could have turned it off inside? Next up was the desk chair. It was mustard yellow mesh with a 10 inch long, dark, disgusting triangular shaped stain. I didn't even want to think about what caused that stain. The vinyl covered reclining chair arms were very dusty in a not very difficult to reach area of the chair. The bed made loud spring noises and was very soft. The room smelled of (dog?) urine and disinfectant. I opened the window to try and air it out which turned off the A/C. It took 30 minutes or more for the A/C to start working again. It was hot in Portland, about 85 degrees. My little pug found a pill next to the bed on the floor. Thank goodness he didn't eat it. I looked it up and it was some sort of muscle relaxant, which probably would have made him very sick had he eaten it. I laid down for a nap and for about 45 minutes I kept hearing what sounded like someone tossing glass into a glass filled garbage bag. It must have been the housekeeping staff, though why they had to be so noisy I can't imagine. I woke up from the nap, fed the dogs, gathered our stuff and left. I couldn't stand to be in that room for another moment. I rated the property 3 out of 5 because the staff was very nice, the lobby was clean and I'm assuming from the other reviews of this hotel that I was unlucky to have a bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Easiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great value for the price! We were greeted by a friendly staff at the front desk. They were knowledgeable about the area and were able to answer all our questions. The room was clean and comfortable and our dog was able to travel with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in hotel with husband and kids while visiting family in the area. Great location and the price is right. Staff was very friendly. Rooms clean. There was an issue of late night noise/partying in the hotel. Rooms do not seem to be very sound proof. Staff was very accomadating and helpful and manager responded to our complaints about our stay. Loud guests are not the fault of the hotel, but if its a regular occurance I would think weekend security would resolve the issue. Overall, great location and price. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you're heading to a Sea Dogs game in Portland, this is the perfect hotel. It's a 5 minute walk to the park. It's not close to Inner Harbor but it's definitely more reasonably prices than the hotels downtown! We were pleasantly surprised to find out our room had a refrigerator and microwave. The room was adequate; nothing fancy, but we don't require fancy. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited on a trip to a medical appointment. Everything was fine/..Very convenient location near the Concord bus station, Excellent shuttle service. Staff very friendly & helpful..we enjoyed the breakfast- the do-it yourself waffles is a great feature not found in many other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing