We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit at LaQuinta, Portland ME”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
A TripAdvisor Member
“Visit at LaQuinta, Portland ME”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited on a trip to a medical appointment. Everything was fine/..Very convenient location near the Concord bus station, Excellent shuttle service. Staff very friendly & helpful..we enjoyed the breakfast- the do-it yourself waffles is a great feature not found in many other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    249
    155
    56
    37
See reviews for
193
279
46
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed one evening, four of us in 2 separate rooms. We always request non-smoking, although the hall, and the room reeked with the smell of cigarette smoke. If we didn't arrive so late, 12AM, we would have complained at the time, or maybe left. The bathroom was in need of repairs, and not exactly tidy. When we left that morning, we did complain to the front desk. They did refund $25. which made us feel better.......will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney ME
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here May 8th for one night while my husband had surgery. Very nice hotel, clean, and staff was very helpful and pleasant. The room was large, with a king size bed which was very comfortable. They offered a continental breakfast...eggs, cereal, muffins, yogurt, etc. and make your own waffles. Everything was plentiful and tasty. The price was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the Portland area. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room on third floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel was clean, and not a bad value for the price that was paid. There was one issue that did not turn out to be a problem, but it could have been under different circumstances. We were able to hear conversations occurring in the hallway outside the room, which was not unexpected, and understood to be a normal part of a hotel visit. However, when we discovered that the conversation was not actually in the hallway, but was in a room across the hall, that had the door completely shut (as was the door to our room), it became apparent that the sound-proofing of the hotel was entirely inadequate. One should not be able to clearly hear the voices of other guest from a closed room, across an entire hallway.
Bedding in the room was satisfactory, but not luxurious or unusually comfortable. An upgrade in the mattress quality would be nice.
The hotel does provide a shuttle service to PWM airport, and surrounding destinations, that was used. Drivers were pleasant and affable and the service was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where no one else is located near you, and note that smoking floors are permeated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LV_Funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The primary appeal of this La Quinta might be its low price** and its location adjacent to the Maine Eye Center. Cataract patients from out of town often stay here overnight in-between their initial eye operation, and the requisite eye-check-out the next morning.

My neighbor and I stayed overnight here April 30th for her cataract operation. Despite some apprehension from prior reviews, both rooms were clean, had working flat-screen TVs, good reading lights, a comfortable easy chair, a desk with outlets for your electronics (wi-fi worked fine), and screened windows that could be half-opened. True, it’s an older facility and shows some wear, but our rooms were perfectly acceptable. We had small refrigerators and microwaves in our second-floor rooms (photos are from #210)—the receptionist said that these are not available on the third floor.

Pets are allowed on the first and fourth floors, there are smokers’ rooms on the fourth floor. I called to check if the first floor rooms also had refrigerators and microwaves, and was told that 10-12 of these do, but not all. Parking is free. I am compelled to add that the full-length well-lit mirror opposite the bath/sink area and the large mirror in the bedroom were a vast improvement from some of the dark corner mirrors encountered in two recent 4-star hotel stays.

The area is more industrial than Portland’s tourist-oriented waterfront and downtown, and the streets on either side of it are one-way, so getting to it is slightly complicated. I was glad to have our Garmin navigator for guidance. However, there is a McDonald’s and a Dunkin Donuts within an easy walk (walk against the one-way traffic on Park Ave., walk under both railway overpasses and turn right onto St. John St. and you will see them). If you drive out for groceries, both a Whole Foods and a Trader Joe’s are 3 minutes away—on Marginal Way and Somerset St.—get directions from MapQuest.

Our desk clerks were perfectly friendly and helpful, so I would return—the $62.60 price (AAA rate room x $58.50 & $4.10 tax) for a king bedroom on 2nd floor with microwave and small refrigerator certainly would allow more visits. I didn’t try the free breakfast, just the coffee, but my neighbor liked her waffle and syrup. It’s not exciting, but it works.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryExplorer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#16 of 19 in Portland
575 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 19 in Portland
1,599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing