We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Affordable and Decent Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
194 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Affordable and Decent Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our family has stayed at this La Quinta many times-- previously, I think it was a Fairfield Inn. The quality has always been at least acceptable: clean, no frills, just good basic accommodations. (They accept guests with pets-- a big plus for those traveling with Fido or Miss Kitty.) The other reviews, I think, are correct: there's plenty of hot water, the beds are reasonably comfortable, and the TVs are good and hooked up to cable. One downside is the "heating units" that are in the rooms (and that are typical in many hotels/motels). They're noisy and seem to have trouble maintaining the "sweet spot" of not too hot, not too cool. But these units are good enough, and you can get a night's sleep without any trouble. This La Quinta is basic, but you'll have a clean place to stay, with good service on the desk, a free "breakfast" with coffee in the morning, and you won't break the bank. You can use the money you save by eating good seafood or ethnic food (Thai!), visiting the Portland Museum of Art, watching the Seadogs play, or seeing a movie. Portland is a great town, well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the front of the hotel are a better choice. The breakfast room is usually crowded i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontpelierGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    217
    144
    51
    35
See reviews for
161
241
42
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
290 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stay at the La Quinta several times a year - on our way to the Portland Jetport, on our way back from a trip via the Jetport, or to see the Portland Sea Dogs AA minor league team in nearby Hadlock Field. The place is conveniently located, has an airport shuttle, a park-and-fly option, and reasonable prices. The staff is wonderful - helpful and friendly. All rooms are pretty much the same, reasonably sound proof, and in very good condition considering this is not a very new facility. Bathrooms are clean, if small, and all facilities are in working order - water is hot and the showerheads are good. Stay often enough, and the staff knows you prefer a full-sized coffee maker and a room away from the elevator. They also greet you by name, and have your reservation ready when you arrive. Breakfast is free but basic for a La Quinta: cereals, make your own waffles, hard boiled eggs.

Room Tip: Upstairs (floors 3 and 4) have less street noise; front or back makes no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Clean, budget hotel with free complimentary breakfast, free airport shuttle, microwave and fridge, and the hotel also is pet friendly. Ask for an renovated upper floor if you don't have pets. Staff was very efficient and friendly. The room was updated, and smelled really fresh and clean. The beds were extra comfortable, and had very nice quality linens. (When traveling, we usually fold down the bed to take a peek before we unpack.) There were some cons: It's February, and the heating unit in our room was not working well. We were cold. Management did what they could and gave us a small credit when we checked out. The hotel is in a slightly undesireable part of Portland, but it is located not far from the airport and that's what we were looking for. Complimentary breakfast was adequate. LaQunita Inns are very popular in the South and overall we have been quite pleased with them. We will continue to stay at LaQuinta Inns; it's a good bargain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visit Portland several times a year to see friends -- now that they have a baby, we stay at a hotel rather than with them. This is my first stay at a La Quinta -- and, with one exception (an icky hair in the shower - no idea how one got that far up on the tile!), it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It's not in the greatest part of Portland so I wouldn't plan any night time walks, but I didn't feel overly unsafe or anything like that. If you're looking for a nice view and to be right downtown, this isn't a good choice -- however, if you have a car, and you don't mind the less than 10 minute drive downtown to find a place to park, it's works out really well. Sunday morning, we did walk to Bintliff's American Cafe, one of my Portland favorites, which is about a mile from the hotel.

The staff was very nice, check in and check out were super fast. Nice flat screen, small refrigerator and microwave. We didn't take advantage of the fridge and microwave, but if you have kids or you're staying more than a day or two, it would be a great thing to have. We didn't take advantage of the free breakfast in the morning, but it smelled pretty good and there were a lot of people enjoying it. We did drink the free coffee, though, and it was very good!

I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishBird78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was my first time to portland, but I will say that La Quinta is a vary nice hotel to stay at. The price was good for a three star (its cheaper during the winter) and the room was well kept. We were travelling with my dog and i still found that the stay was very easy. They do have a rule that if you do not have a kennel then the roomkeepers will not clean your room (for their safety) which I found very reasonable, and so i took a kennel. The hotel is very quiet, the room was clean and the front staff was very helpful with which restaurants to eat at and where to go. My boyfriend enjoyed the flat screen TV with very good sound. Choices for breakfast were pretty average based on what i have experienced at other hotels, cereal, muffins, bagels, toast and a make your own waffel machine.
I will most definitely stay at this hotel again when i visit Portland, its about a 30 min walk from the old port which is nice. The only complaint that I would have about the hotel is the area in which it it is in. When walking my dog at night, there are not many street lights or people walking around and so I would be very careful and not walk alone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Guadalupe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing