We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential Bed Bug Problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just checked-out today after a 2-night stay for the Portland marathon, along with several friends. A couple of us (staying in seperate, non-adjacent rooms, all on the 2nd floor) have the same, small red bites on our legs and arms. They look alarmingly like bed bug bites. We are disinfecting our clothes and have notified the hotel management, but wanted to alert potential visitors asap.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We are sorry that you feel you experienced this while staying with us. We have had a thorough inspection completed by a licensed professional and there was no indication of any pests or bed bugs in either of these rooms. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 778 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

My overall stay was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and smelled fresh. I enjoyed the complementary breakfast too. I would definitely return the next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Nice people,clean room with good beds,dog friendly and value priced .Stayed two days one week and returned the next week for two more days. 5 minutes from the center of town and convenient to 295 .Would recommend this to anyone traveling on a budget. Free hot breakfast and GOOD coff

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 201Flyawayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Overall my room was clean and comfortable. The bed had a pillowtop mattress with plenty of pillows which made for a good night's sleep.

I did notice a few stray hairs on the bathroom counter which makes me think housekeeping just gave it a quick wipe down and that was it. I checked in slightly early, at 2pm, and overheard the front desk clerk begging housekeeping to get the rooms done.

The hotel is in a decent area but is a few blocks from downtown. There is an outdoor pool which is open during the summer. There's also a McDonalds around the corner, which was convenient since I didn't want to drive during rush hour.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie123064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I made a trip up to Portland last night. The La Quinta was recommended by a friend - we knew it wasn't close to downtown, but was told it was clean and a good value. Upon arriving at the hotel we were quickly checked into our room. As soon as I entered the room I noticed everything was outdated, cheap looking and dirty. There were hairs in the bathtub and the bathroom obviously had not been cleaned. I called the front desk and they moved us to another room. I quickly glanced at the new bathroom and it looked better but not great - we had plans and needed to leave immediately. Upon returning to the hotel after 11pm, my husband decided to take a shower - where he found a used breath right strip on the soap shelf in the shower. So obviously that one hadn't been cleaned either. When I called the front desk they did not offer any help or suggestions. We would have left right then had it not been so late. At check out when I informed the desk agent of our problems and all she said was "well what do you want me to do for you?". We were offered half off the room after refusing to pay the full amount. I went to college for hospitality and have been working in hotels for 8 years and have never seen anything like this. The housekeeping staff is careless and the front desk has to take the rap for it. This hotel is a disgrace, and I highly recommend never ever staying here. I will pay the extra $150 to stay at the Hilton downtown anyway over this dirty hotel hell.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastiesWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is fine for the price. Nothing overly fancy, but a fine place to come back to after a day of sightseeing. Rooms were clean and seemed to be recently renovated. It was about a 10 minute drive to the old port/waterfront area, and 15 minutes to the Portland Head Lighthouse. Complementary breakfast served until 9am (10am on weekends). If you miss breakfast there is a McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, and Denny's a few minutes away. Parking in the waterfront area was congested, and had to pay around $10 each time. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthonyh41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

All the B&B's were booked, so we had to stay in a hotel - this was closest to where we needed to be, so we booked. Check-in and out were friendly and efficient. Our room seemed fairly recently renovated and had all the amenities we needed. We encountered no noise issues, but another guest mentioned a loud party on the floor above us. The breakfast room was small and crowded but the woman in charge was constantly busy cleaning tables and replenishing the standard breakfast items. Perhaps another waffle maker would have eased the crush. The only issue was my fault. I parked in an area with overhanging trees and my car was covered in sap by the morning. I'd stay here again - check their website to book. It was cheaper than the big general booking websites.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thirdtimeisacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#14 of 21 in Portland
1,776 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#18 of 21 in Portland
618 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $78 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing