We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, good value”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is fine for the price. Nothing overly fancy, but a fine place to come back to after a day of sightseeing. Rooms were clean and seemed to be recently renovated. It was about a 10 minute drive to the old port/waterfront area, and 15 minutes to the Portland Head Lighthouse. Complementary breakfast served until 9am (10am on weekends). If you miss breakfast there is a McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, and Denny's a few minutes away. Parking in the waterfront area was congested, and had to pay around $10 each time. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyh41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    246
    155
    56
    37
See reviews for
191
271
45
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

All the B&B's were booked, so we had to stay in a hotel - this was closest to where we needed to be, so we booked. Check-in and out were friendly and efficient. Our room seemed fairly recently renovated and had all the amenities we needed. We encountered no noise issues, but another guest mentioned a loud party on the floor above us. The breakfast room was small and crowded but the woman in charge was constantly busy cleaning tables and replenishing the standard breakfast items. Perhaps another waffle maker would have eased the crush. The only issue was my fault. I parked in an area with overhanging trees and my car was covered in sap by the morning. I'd stay here again - check their website to book. It was cheaper than the big general booking websites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thirdtimeisacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice location close to downtown. It was only six dollars by cab each way which is so unbelievably cheap. Rooms were nice. Flat panel TV and fridge in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. Portland was fun, great beer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMonteRunsOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWestern, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

La Quinta is very convenient to Maine Medical Center and to the airport. We ended up staying there for like 6 weeks one February with our father and then 2 more weeks the next February with our mother. We have a large family so we took 2-3 rooms each week. We found it clean, the beds comfortable and the service friendly and how nice is it to have the shuttle available on a stormy evening. It is nice to see some familiar faces at the desk when you make return trips. That is where we stay on our visits to Portland.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlath0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have stayed at several La Quintas and had high expectations for this one. Unfortunately, this hotel falls far short of the mark. I should have realized why it had availability when everything else was booked. The neighborhood was not great, and it is right next to train tracks although this did not bother us as they don't sound their horn. We had two adults and a pre-teen, so the two full-size beds, as opposed to queens, were a definite negative. The reason they need full-size is the rooms are tiny. We also had no microwave but apparently other guests did. The bathroom was old and poorly maintained, with black mold in the shower caulk and the handle about to fall off. The air conditioning could not keep up with the warm weather, so it was HOT sleeping. The hallways were hot and humid. The elevator is very slow.
On the plus side, the staff was very nice and the pool was sparkling clean (wonder if their pool person can do bathrooms?).
All in all, we were glad to move on after two nights, and do not plan to return to this property in the future. I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antiquemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Quinta for two nights while we were in town for a concert. The front desk staff was great, and the rooms were a lot nicer than we were expecting. The hallways smelled a bit musty, but our room itself was fine. The hotel is a short cab ride from the old port - we had no trouble finding plenty of things to do nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,552 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing