We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love La Quinta, Portland, Maine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Searsport, Maine, USA
2 reviews
“I love La Quinta, Portland, Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I have stayed with them twice in the past few months. They have the nicest , cleanest , comfortable rooms, of any hotel I have stayed in over the past years. The staff are polite, friendly, professional, and very accommodating. My room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, the television was large, new, and had a great picture. The shower had great pressure, and plenty of hot water. Oh, and the free continental breakfast has great variety. Coffee pot in room was a plus! Didn't try the pool or gym due to weather and time constraints, but intend to on my next stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank dorothyk997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    240
    152
    56
    37
See reviews for
183
266
45
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Usually 4 stars but this time, only 3 stars and here's why: Our TV remote would not work as we surfed the channels, and it got stuck on the Toddlers and Tiaras channel, then it would not turn off. After 20 min. of fiddling with it, we called the front desk. The woman said she'd come look at it. It was late and we were in our PJs. A man came to our door!! We recognized him so we let him in, but he could not fix the remote. He turned off the TV w/ a button on the back of the set. We usually sleep with the TV set to soothing oceans sounds which helps mask noise and keeps our dog from being up all night and/or barking at noises outside and in the hallway. That was out, too. Further, we had no TV the next morning and so couldn't check weather, roads etc for the next leg of our trip. We also didn't have a microwave; we've always had a microwave in our room when we stay at LQ, and feel they should have notified us beforehand. There apparently were none to be had, and no other rooms to move to, so we had to head to the "dining room" to heat our dog's food. At 7am. There was no soap and no coffee in the room, despite a coffee maker. On the second morning, a lone packet of decaf was left for me, but I was able to get two packets of regular from the front desk. All in all not our typical LQ experience. That being said, there are a couple of young men at the front desk who are beyond fabulous at customer service!!!! Best I've ever encountered, and that includes the Plaza and The Grand Hyatt hotels in NYC!!! Beds are comfortable but both of us always wake with headaches and puffy faces! I otherwise rarely get headaches. Happens every time I stay at LQ. The other 3 times we stayed at LQ, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahVMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have no complaints about this hotel. It was reasonably priced, conviently located and clean. We stayed 3 in the room and had plenty of space. Staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have stayed @ this location and many others and over all have had a good experience. This Portland maine location is excellent. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff has always been excellent and go out of the way to accomidate. I would recomend this hotel to anyone,and would take any of my friends and family here. the food is excellent and fresh. enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were in town for a conference and our boss booked us a room at La Quinta. Fortunately, it was within walking distance of the conference and the beds were clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, there was a lot of dust on the microwave in the room, in the corners of the bathroom, and there was some chocolate or something stuck to the top of the desk. It was okay for a business trip, where we did not spend much time in the room. I would not go back and stay there if I were on a trip with family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Rare combination, nice size room, comfortable leather recliner, great king size bed, accessible electric outlets, flat screen tv, consistent internet connection, and a pretty nice breakfast spread at reason price. As this is the 17th week I have spent on the road in 2012 - I can pretty comfortably saying this one is nice enough that it was worthwhile to recognize their effort, and I definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_and_M_travels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have often stayed at La Quintas, and until now, always had positive experiences. This was the exception. We decided to stay here as we live outside of Portland and had a late evening flight. When we arrived at the airport at 10:10, I called the front desk for pick-up and was informed the shuttle stops running at 10 pm, and I would have to call a cab. We probably would have been satisfied with a sincere "sorry for your inconvenience," but I did not even get so much as this statement when complaining politely over the phone, again at check-in, and later in correspondence with the manager (management here appears to set the tone for the entire staff). In my communications, I suggested management consider extending the shuttle until 10:30 as this is the last major flight of the evening and was ignored (the cab dispatcher at the airport said he thinks their policy is outrageous, and he regularly puts customers in cabs who had expected to take the shuttle). After responding to the automatic survey one receives from LQ after a stay, I had another communication from the manager telling me he regretted his explanation was "not what you'd expected." I would never stay here again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneG40505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
1.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing