We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Comfortable, and close to Hadlock Field”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Hartford, ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, and close to Hadlock Field”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Wow! We were so impressed with this little hotel. We were in town for a couple of Portland Seadogs games, some sightseeing, and a trip up to the Freeport outlets (about a 20 minute drive outside the city). We chose La Quinta because of its proximity to Hadlock Field, which turned out to be less than a 5 minute walk. Very convenient after a night game! We paid $150 per night with our AAA discount, which seemed pricey initially, but after shopping around, it seemed like a bargain for Portland this time of year. We found the room to be clean, the pool was refreshing, and the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. I haven't slept that good in awhile! The only 2 drawbacks were that the room was a little too warm, despite turning the A/C up to the max, but not uncomfortably so, and there was a weird smell after they cleaned the room for the day - probably from their cleaning products. The complimentary breakfast included make-your-own waffles (yum),hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, cereal, juice and coffee...not bad! All-in-all for a budget hotel, we had a positive experience. We're already planning our trip back next summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTGirl860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    242
    152
    56
    37
See reviews for
185
269
45
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My mother and I are here now over the 4th of July because my father is at Maine Medical undergoing quadruple bypass surgery. I have to say that the staff here is absolutely incredible!! They're extremely friendly, helpful and caring. We're here under very stressful circumstances and interacting with the incredible staff here has just been such a blessing. The room here is very clean and way more than I expected it to be. We also have a medical rate because of my father's stay at the hospital, so the stay here has been at a great rate. Overall, this has been an excellent experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dismomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nice clean little motel. We misunderstood breakfast time, but the lady cleaning up got food out for us anyway when we got there. This motel is only minutes from the docks if you want seafood, and only about 10 minutes from the airport. A quick & easy drive. We would stay there again. Clean & convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Doolittlespots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Family recently moved to Portland and this was the closest motel to the apartment. We had an issue with the toilet the first night - and Meg at the front desk quickly moved us to another room for the second night. The rooms had a microwave and fridge and nice size flat screen tv. The motel is across the street from where the Sea Dogs play. The bed was so comfortable....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seg56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor,ME
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is about 1.5 miles from downtown Portland, so if you don't mind the walk it's a nice option for enjoying downtown without the price of a downtown hotel. The bed was fine but the comforter felt like a plastic tablecloth and the pillows went flat as soon as you layed on them, but that might be more of a personal preference than anything. Overall it was a nice hotel for the price. We called ahead and got a refrigerator and microwave in our room which was very handy and we weren't charged extra for it. They have a decent continental breakfast...I eat gluten free and was still able to make a breakfast out of a banana, hard boiled egg and yogurt. They have a miniature pool but I'm sure it would do the trick on a hot day. Oh and they have a "fitness area" that consists of one treadmill and one Bowflex type machine. Friendly staff!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wifey0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Had a nice little trip up north and enjoyed our stay at La Quinta. This chain is really pretty nice and the fact that they are pet friendly with no added fees is really appreciated. Sometimes you have to bring fido along... The location isn't dreamy - it's really just a place to crash in town... I will definitely stay here again. The basic free breakfast is minimal but helps you get a start on your day...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igiveyoubeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We have enjoyed our stay, clean and roomy. Not fancy but we weren't looking for fancy. The price was good and we were pleasantly suprised at the quality we received. Decent breakfast not fancy but satisfying.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sonoranmama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#12 of 19 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
0.9 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
Address: 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102-2734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing