We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveler rating
307
56
14
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
307
56
14
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews billiard room personalized menu tempo dulu bay room modern art old port sister property monument square turn down service window unit arts district breakfast was delicious bed and breakfast beautiful property public spaces romantic weekend eastern promenade
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 385 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

Atmosphere: perfect New England setting in an historic building with unique eclectic Asian influence. Charming and unique.

Service/Staff: we mostly interacted with Caroline who was so welcoming, kind, thoughtful & available for any questions we had. Pleasant and on the ball even during busy times!

Accommodations: everything you need is there, well thought out. Fireplace in the room, incredibly comfortable bed, several amenities including turn down service. Quiet, quaint, perfect.

Food: snacks and coffee readily available along with a bar for your weekend relaxation needs. Breakfast was easily some of the best food I had in Portland all weekend.

We will absolutely be back, and we cannot wait! Special and thoughtful nice touches as well, which I don’t want to spoil here. You’ll just have to see for yourself.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank alic706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

This was my first time in Portland and wow, did I ever choose the right place to stay! What attracted me to book this inn was the "arty" flare of the hotel entrance and rooms and it was even better in person! The owners have created a calm, reflective and very interesting atmosphere. All staff members were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us. The breakfast was excellent and there were so many little extras, including the welcome glass of Prosecco, chocolates on the bed, and fruit/cookies available for late night snacks. The room was spacious and comfortable. It is not exactly downtown but definitely walk-able. We will definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Z4263KEkathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Our room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. From the moment we checked in to the moment we drove away the service and friendliness of all the staff we met was unparalleled. They added lots of little touches to make our stay more special - personalized notes, leaving fire logs to build a fire on a rainy stormy night. Breakfast was tasty and fresh and the coffee was the best I've had in a hotel!
Lots of small details make this a great place to stay - for example the snacks, tea and coffee available from the bar throughout the day. A very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. It's about a 20 minute walk to the heart of Old Port which is nice if the weather is fine - otherwise, Lyft was roughly $5-6 and we never had to wait long for one.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Róisín N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I vacationed in Portland and stayed at the Danforth Inn. We could not be happier with our stay. The room is spacious, with a private bath. The bed is very comfortable. Free off street parking. The service is fantastic. We were particularly impressed with Pearl. She is so friendly and helpful with ideas for things to do, and with breakfast in the morning. And speaking of breakfasts, they are incredible. Every morning we get a personalized menu with 3 different options and they are different each day. The food is fantastic. There is also a small buffet set up in the morning, and there is coffee and tea and cookies throughout the day. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Portland.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank josephf294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

i had read previous reviews before selecting a B&B in Portland. We flew to Portland from Newark, NJ & took a $10 Uber to The Danforth. Comfortable lounge waiting area. Coffee, fruit, nuts, cookies available. Some nice amenities -- glass of Prosecco during stay, Molton Brown bath products. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfasts are amazing! During our stay we had lobster Benedict & eggs with lobster fried rice. Easy walk to all the waterfront stores and restaurants.

Room tip: We stayed in the Old Port room. Were told it is the only one with a bath.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews