We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lobster Mash” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grill Room and Bar

The Grill Room and Bar
Ranked #78 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you’re looking for the best steakhouse in Portland, Maine you have come to the right place! The Grill Room features affordable, wood-fired, grilled steaks, delicious pizza and incredible seafood entrees the whole family will love.Chef Lee Harding has dedicated his life to the culinary arts and focuses on using grass fed beef & locally grown meats and produce in his creations. With high ceilings and a big, open kitchen, The Grill Room aims to please with more than just great food at affordable prices. If you have never been dining in Portland, Maine, it is quite an experience! There are so many restaurants to choose from that only award-winning restaurants, like The Grill Room, tend to stand out from the crowd.The Grill Room is the second restaurant founded in Harding’s “The Rooms” brand of restaurants. Since 2008, the Grill Room has been featured in many of Maine’s top publications as a “Best Bet” for Portland Maine food. Come in and try the now famous beef tartare, or a juicy wood-fired pizza or grilled steak. Open seven days a week, The Grill Room offers lunch and dinner selections with a healthy wine and drink list. Visit The Grill Room today and find out what a Portland, Maine steakhouse should be like.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Lobster Mash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The lobster mash potato was awesome. We sat at the chef's bar and was able to watch as they made different dishes. That actually helped in our decision making on what meal to order. Food was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott_PWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    111
    44
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious swordfish, so-so salad & good attempt at service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you can tolerate an over stimulating, excessively noisy dining room with poor acoustics &
loud (uninteresting) music, then you might be okay. I'm not sure that even the most delicious swordfish entree is worth such an intrusion. The waiter seemed to try to do his job well-- and I will give him the benefit of the doubt that maybe this was his first night--but his slow, deliberate demeanor was borderline painful--not to mention barely audible. Food: bread was okay--olive oil accompaniment was delicious. Caesar salad with anchovies was perfectly dressed, cold and crisp. The Grill room "chopped salad" was not a "chopped" salad. It was barely dressed and needed additional dressing. The crispy onions on top were interesting, the rest of the salad was mediocre. I asked to omit the mushrooms and blue cheese, so perhaps these omissions altered the salad too much-- I doubt it, however. The onion soup was very good, as was the hamburger pizza, the Brussel sprouts, and the potato gratinee. Ordered a martini with 2 olives (had to repeat the order three times and and it still came with three olives) Took 15 minutes to get our check. When waiter returned with the check -- adjusted for a Group On we used--he repeated several times" now THIS is the original price BEFORE the Group On! Duh!! Okay, we are not stupid, we know exactly how to tip. Oh, swordfish was absolutely delicious, and beautifully presented atop a delicate and flavorful butternut squash risotto.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BOYAJIAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hotel staff pick for best burger in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was dying for a hamburger, so we walked over to the Grill Room to have one. The burger was very good on something like a flatbread, and the fries were fabulous! It really hit the spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baring, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I had a very romantic dinner under the stars. We had our dinner at The Grill Room's outside tables. Beautiful fall night. The food was fantastic. My husband had trout and loved it. I am a vegetarian and they make a fantastic homemade pizza. Will e going there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've enjoyed The Front Room, The Corner Room and Boone's as well and wanted to try The Grill Room for our anniversary dinner weekend. We made reservations for Saturday night and it was very crowded so glad we did! We were seated right away at a table by the window overlooking Exchange Street. Our server was excellent! She was very knowledgeable about the menu and specials and how everything was prepared and her timing between courses was right on. We ordered the mussels appetizer which was very good and a carafe of wine to share. My husband ordered the duck breast and said it was the best he's had! I had the swordfish special that came with mushroom risotto and it was also excellent! We both ate everything on our plates!!! For dessert, we had crème brulee. That is our favorite dessert in St. Martin, so we are always skeptical to order it here in the States. It was great!!! Creamy and full of flavor. Our meals with wine came to $97 before tip. It is expensive for just a night out for dinner but the food and service is so good that we are looking forward to going back again soon! The restaurant is dark and cozy and feel it is a perfect "Maine winter" kindof place. They do have a really nice patio for beautiful summer nights however. Our only negative critique would be it is too dark to read the menu! We had to get a flashlight app on our phone to read the menu and we were by a window. I would suggest more candles or at least a little more light around the restaurant. I also agree that the music was a little loud for an expensive dinner experience. Otherwise it was a great meal and excellent service. Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill Room and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Grill Room and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing