We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT SMELLS JUST LIKE A BAKERY!”

Standard Baking Co.
Ranked #1 of 28 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Artisanal, European breads and pastries for takeaway. Slow-fermented, hand-crafted breads and classic pastries with a local twist, carefully prepared by our small crew of skilled bakers. Breakfast pastries, cookies, traditional baguettes, naturally-leavened organic breads made with local grains, seasonal and daily specials. We also provide limited seating outdoors seasonally.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“IT SMELLS JUST LIKE A BAKERY!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Sounds like Kramer from Seinfeld and, yes, I have used that droll comment upon entering the standard by which all bakeries are (or should be) measured before: Standard Bakery.

What more do you need to know?

I thought so.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    151
    31
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great bakery”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We grabbed a few things here and took them over to Cape Elizabeth for a picnic. Everything we got was delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chadz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

After reading about The Standard Baking Co. on tripadvisor, I decided to check it out. It ended up being right beside my hotel which was great. The muffin I bought was mouth-wateringly good. This will be on my list of places to go when I go back to Portland.

Get there early. Their food goes fast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything Here is Good”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

It's very obvious, regardless of what you try, that everything here is made fresh and well. There is not a thing they offer that I would discourage someone from trying. Five stars all-around.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Croissants were nothing special”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a chocolate croissant which was almost devoid of chocolate and a ham and cheese croissant which was also very sparsely filled. Served ice cold and unappetizing. Not worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 918saraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standard Baking Co. also viewed

 

Been to Standard Baking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing