We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the BREAD!!!!!”

Standard Baking Co.
Ranked #1 of 28 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Artisanal, European breads and pastries for takeaway. Slow-fermented, hand-crafted breads and classic pastries with a local twist, carefully prepared by our small crew of skilled bakers. Breakfast pastries, cookies, traditional baguettes, naturally-leavened organic breads made with local grains, seasonal and daily specials. We also provide limited seating outdoors seasonally.
Long Island, ME
Level Contributor
98 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's the BREAD!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Their baguettes are wonderful (try an eppi for a change, cut to resemble a wheat stalk). Everything they have is good. Challa for French toast; ham and cheese croissant; brownies; morning rolls; etc. etc. etc.!!! Been buying from them since they were down the street - years!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    145
    29
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Just a breadloaf counter, limited selection, no lattes, no place to sit, no ambiance. ..not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the sticky bins with pecans were divine. But we came here first thing in the morning for some coffee and a pastry. We were S.O.L. Why would a bake shop not have coffee (okay..they had a brewed pot, but I needed a latte fix).

There were a bunch of loaves of bread , like rye, but not much in the way of morning breads (unless you are German and like hard rolls for breakfast).

The lady at the counter did suggest two coffee shops on the next block over. I really appreciated that. She was obviously busy with the cruise crowd that just disembarked and could ill afford the time to chat. (Celebration Glory parked in the harbor big as life and twice as natural).

We bought 2 sticky buns and took her advice...walked to Crema and got our coffee, pastry, and coffee-subculture fix. Crema is a better place in my humble but accurate opinion.

Maybe I'm just spoiled.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boilinginTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I agree with the lastreview.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

T cinnamon pecan rolls are the best. I managed to eat 2 of them and it was the best. Flakey,crusty they were unbelieveable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
140 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Best Bakery. Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Croissant, and lots of wonderful breads.
Can't be wrong. In fact they cater a lot of restaurants as well :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank les_canadiens_jkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“One of the best bakeries in America!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Travel & Leisure Magazine just named Standard Bakery in foodie-heaven Portland, ME one of the top 18 bakeries in the country. And for good reason. Absolutely delicious bread. We went for the Maine Grain because we assiduously avoid gluten but were told that because the Standard uses local, organic wheat the health effects are totally different. And they were NOT lying! This is incredibly delicious, healthy bread. Chewy and yummy. We also left with coconut macaroons (delish) and some oat bars that totally rocked. Portland is a great place and The Standard Bakery is a must-visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blondventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standard Baking Co. also viewed

 

Been to Standard Baking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing