We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Japanese Cuisine.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miyake

Miyake
Ranked #84 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Millville, DE
Level Contributor
216 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Superb Japanese Cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

As a Japanese food addict; this place exceeded all my expectations. The menu is diverse and varied and the service was very good. Our meal started with lobster miso which I have never seen prior to this visit and it was superb. My wife opted for the Teriyaki salmon that was also superbly done - pink, warm and firm on the inside.I ordered the bento box with a little trepidation since our server was very vague on its contents. It had the traditional rolls and sushi but there was also a warm lobster and mushroom custard which was better than delicious. The octopus salad was also great. I would have to rate the dish a 15 on a scale of 10. If this restaurant was in NYC; it would be fully booked from 5 to midnight. The interior is also slick and attractive. We will be driving 50 miles to Portland to enjoy several more meals before we return home. Miyake is wonderful!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    32
    20
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“miyake- worst service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

After reading several reviews, we decided to go to Miyake for lunch. After looking at the menu, we had a few questions. A waitress named Kristin came over to our table to take our order. Her attitude towards our questions was appalling. She rolled her eyes, made sarcastic comments and had a general pathetic attitude. I was more than a little shocked but still ordered our food. However after she left, after discussing Kristin's attitude towards us, we canceled our order and left the restaurant.

I have lived in NYC for the past 12 years and have never come across such attitude. We complained to the manager. I just hope that the owner is aware of how his customers were treated. Even one time is too many!

Its a shame that a restaurant that serves "masterful food" has a horrible waitress. Nothing is worth being treated with such disrespect. I hope the owner is reading this review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Strikers_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellence ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Awesome food. Attentive service. Came back two nights in a row as too many good things to eat in one meal. A home run.

Helpful?
Thank Asianfoodietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
244 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth multiple visits for the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have been here several times, and each time the food is amazing. This not the classic Japanese food, but fusion with blended influences from Japan, Asia, France & Italy. The restaurant is small, so busy days, you probably need a reservation. We ate lunch and they close at 2:30PM. So get there before then.

The flower arrangements were colorful.

While I see some reports of poor service, we have never experienced this at all. The Tei Shoku meal comes with three courses and runs $19.50/each. If you order a la carte, it can be pricy. The super Toro we had was $18, but scrumptious and a reasonable amount of food.

For us, we stop here whenever we can on the way upstate or near Boston. They have another restaurant in the area: Pai Men at 188 State Street.

Note that on our GPS, it took us to State Street, and not the new address of 468 Fore Street, a block or two from downtown.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Remy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I LOVE MIYAKE!! The Maine Lobster sushi roll is the best thing in the world. If you are a picky eater than don't go. Just go!

Helpful?
Thank arrbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miyake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing