We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swanky, but we weren't super impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miyake

Miyake
Ranked #89 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Swanky, but we weren't super impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were on our honeymoon this past summer. Got married in Vermont and then meandered around New England down to Brooklyn. We went to Miyake and were impressed by the decor. The food was good and the server was very kind, but I guess I was expecting some more pizzazz...? I'd seen so many glowing reviews, maybe I set higher expectations than I should have I don't know. But something didn't click here for me.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    32
    20
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Huge let down from our former experiences”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

New location=generic atmosphere, overcooked food, slow service and lackluster experience. And, BYOB is gone. We used to visit Miyake a number of times a year. Now, for the price, quality and venue we'll be going elsewhere. We miss the old hole in a wall!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PortlandME1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“changes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Miyake closed its cinderblock location to open an upscale noodle house. This is some of the best oriental presentation you will get anywhere. It remains to be seen if the noodle house can carry the creativity of the solo operation before. Super fresh, super devoted regulars and pleasant staff.

Helpful?
Thank RebeccaMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stands apart from the "regular" sushi bars.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

This is not a sushi bar, it is a more complete Japanese style restaurant (though they do have a couple of Sushi options). I went expecting Sushi and was quite pleasantly surprised at the fantastic meal I wound up with instead.

Helpful?
Thank Cairdhubain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is for Pai Men Miyake on State Street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Really nice addition to Longfellow Square! The dumplings and ranen were excellent, as was the yakitori.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank WillyRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyake also viewed

 

Been to Miyake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing