We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in wonderful Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay in wonderful Portland”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place was awesome. These guys did a fantastic job. The food was delicious, the room was nice and cozy and warm, and the house itself was beautiful. We stayed in the Chamberlain, and if you can deal with not having an on-suite bathroom (its right across the hall, not a problem) it is a great room. The location is right near town, perfect for walking when the weather was nice. They recommended some fantastic bars and restaurants for us.

We will definitely be staying here again next time we visit Portland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrealhsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
424
20
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed for two nights in November with my wife and parents-in-law.

We had a great weekend staying at the Chadwick.

The Chamberlin was very spacious with nice hardwood floors, The Baxter was very small but very nice and private. We were staying in the winter so did not get to enjoy the small balcony in the Baxter, but imagine it would be nice in the summer. Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms are private and very clean, but not attached to the room for the Chamberlin or Baxter. One suggestion for the Baxter is to get light blocking shades as there is a parking lot with lights on outside the window at night.

Breakfast both days was wonderful with the staff going out of their way to accommodate us.

Free bottled water and sparkling water throughout the day is available in the fridge. Off street parking spot, Wi-fi are included.TV with DVD player in each room, with large selection of DVDs available.

Located in nice neighborhood, driving distance from downtown in the colder months.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Traveling_Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Loved it and told everyone I know about my wonderful experience. It was especially fun because I found the place completely unexpectedly through the app hotel tonight. Every detail was perfectly attended to by the innkeeper. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Even though the weather was quite blustery and blizzardlike, this B&B met us with warmth! Great breakfasts and snacks! Cozy and warm rooms. Close to Portland's shops and restaurants. I would definitely go back to visit again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbeastie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My first visit was this month for pleasure and I felt totally comfortable with the casual yet elegant atmosphere. The rooms are unique and welcoming and I would recommend them for a variety of occasions. My second visit was just a week later and was unfortunately stress related so I was again very happy to stay in such a homey warm environment. Scot serves superb breakfasts, very creative and delicious in a cozy dining room with a fire going. I highly recommend The Chadwick!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloepup2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

A friend and I drove up to Portland on a whim and weren't sure where we would stay. We called around and not only did the Chadwick come recommended by a competitor B&B, but they were also the most affordable option. Plus, they gave us a very reasonable walk-in rate. The room was cozy and adorable, and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever experienced. The only thing that got us out of bed was the smell of local coffee, homemade waffles and sausage drifting up from the kitchen downstairs! We will definitely be back. What a treat!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocowiiiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed in the Chadwick for a planned one night stay with my boyfriend but ended up spending two nights as we just fell in love with Portland and our B&B. if I were to return I would not go anywhere else but the Chadwick. This is not an old fashioned, fuddy duddy B&B, it is a modern, stunningly decorated, homely and tech savvy place to stay. We were greeted warmly and taken supreme care of. The breakfast is to die for ! My god! And those famous cookies, yum yum yum!

Room Tip: The back room with balcony is where we stayed or our second night and thank god! It was amaaazzziinn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenshmenmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect getaway in Portland, Maine, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home-away-from-home. Do as little or as much as you’d like. Whether you are visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing