We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights right at the beginning of September, and quite simply had one of the best stays we have had in the USA. Arriving at The Chadwick is like being warmly and generously welcomed into someone's beautiful home, with luxurious touches everywhere! We arrived late after a very long drive, but the self-check-in procedure was really easy, and Scot came to greet us shortly after we arrived anyway! We stayed our 1st night in the Chamberlain Room (one of the most comfortable beds we've slept in ANYWHERE!) and 2nd night in the Baxter Room which has a beautiful little private balcony. The delicious gourmet breakfasts were literally the best we've ever eaten. The homemade cookies available to help yourself during the day are divine, and there is coffee, water, and other snacks out too. It is really helpful to have a computer available for using the internet, and other guests were happily making use of the lounge, DVD library and magazines. Scot's recommendations for dinner were great - we went to LFK (the burgers are great!) which is easy walking distance and The Farmer's Table, down in the Old Port. We discovered lots of fantastic independent coffee shops too!

A 2-night stay was definitely not long enough - we could happily have stayed for our whole trip as Portland and the surrounding area has so much to offer. When we are lucky enough to be able to return, we will definitely be back at The Chadwick! Why would anyone want to stay anywhere else?!! A 5* star 'Excellent' rating isn't enough - we would give it 10* if Trip Advisor had that option!

Room Tip: Both the rooms we stayed in were great. The Chamberlain has an enormous bed and is light with all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    41
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
419
20
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
shanklin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Excellent b&b. Lovely room, great breakfast, lots of care taken with all the little details, that make this a top notch bed and breakfast. Only stayed the one night,but one of our best nights on the east coast.Totally recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Chadwick House in Portland ME. The home is quaint and just a short walk or drive from town and all the city has to offer. Adam and Scot were helpful and oh so friendly. The breakfasts were satisfying and healthy; the cookies were to die for (nice owrk Adam). We really liked the dining room set up with the small tables for two. You could spend time alone or speak with other guests depending on the mood. We stayed in the Chamberlain Room. Comfy and cozy. Hope to return the net time we get to ME.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room at the Chadwick House.
See more room tips
Green Features: We loved the garden area with space for sitting and relaxing. It was well designed. They use CFL bulbs, recycle, and are somewhat farm to table in their cooking.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the Chadwick Bed and Breakfast. It was far enough from the Old Port to be relaxing and quiet, but close enough for daily visits to the Old Port historical district. We stayed in the Baxter room which is the smallest of the rooms; however, it is very private with its own balcony. Morning coffee breaks enjoying the squirrels' curiosity was a great way to start each day. The weather averaged highs from 68 to 74 and the evenings averaged from 52 to 64 over our 4 day stay. Area restaurants we enjoyed were DiMillo's on the water, Local 188, Bull Feeny's, Dock Side, Port Hole, and Lobster Company. All were great with DiMillos being our favorite. Although touristy, both the lobsters and service were excellent! The Old Port is a $7.00 cab fare one way, but most days and evenings we elected the 30 minute walk. A younger couple could make the walk in half that time. Old buildings and Victorian homes nestled amongst the cherry trees were amazing. We both felt very safe walking day or night. If you're looking for a relaxing 3 day get away this was an amazing trip. I would stay again at the Chadwick. Scot is an awesome innkeeper who takes pride in his property and service. Excellent! Greg

Room Tip: Like privacy - choose the Baxter room Want size - choose the Longfellow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A really comfortable house. Lovely lounge with drinks and cookies! Our room was lovely, the bed comfy, and you could even watch dvds if you wanted. Staff were really friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Good breakfasts, free parking, well placed for eating out too. Can be slightly difficult to find because of one way system , worth checking google map! Nice area with pretty old houses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pommewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent two nights here in mid September 2013. An absolutely wonderful, perfect, exceptional experience. I'd give ten stars if I could. I really can't say enough great things about our stay and about Scot and Adam. The Chadwick is everything and more of what a truly great bed & breakfast experience should be. Also, Portland is incredible. You WILL have a great time in Portland. Anything you could ever want to do, it's there or extremely close by (Casco Bay Islands, Boston is 90 minutes away, and Bar Harbor/Acadia National Park is only about 3 hours away), and not overly expensive whatsoever. Portland's Downtown District is an easy 20-minute walk from the Chadwick.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Abbott Room one night and the Longfellow Room the next night. Both were so great. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the end of a New England tour, and loved both Portland and the Chadwick. Our room (Longfellow) was very comfortable, Scot and Adam were friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were great. Complimentary snacks, water and coffee were available, also a selection of wine on an honour-bar basis. It was a short walk to the art museum (highly recommended) and slightly longer to the Old Port - we had a lovely day exploring. The only downside is that we wished we had more than two nights!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.2 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Address: 140 Chadwick St, Portland, ME 04102-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CHADWICK BED & BREAKFAST: The New Standard of Bed & Breakfast LuxuryThe perfect Portland getaway, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home away from home. Do as little or as much as you like.Whether visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, rest and relaxation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond, leaving you with a rich and memorable experience.Innkeeper & Owner E Scot Fuller, Assistant Innkeeper Adam Alfter, and the rest of The Chadwick Staff take great pride in providing tastefully appointed guest rooms—each with a private bathroom—beautifully landscaped grounds, and a five-star gourmet breakfast each and every morning. We can’t wait to have you experience it for yourself!Within walking distance, you’ll find Portland’s finest galleries, museums, theaters, shops, and restaurants. Guests often use The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast as a base for traveling to other nearby locations such as the Lakes Region of Western Maine, the rugged coastline of Acadia National Park, the sandy beaches of Southern Maine, and the breathtaking White Mountains of New Hampshire.Shoppers and restaurant enthusiasts alike will find whatever they are looking for not only downtown but just a car ride away in Freeport, Kittery, Bar Harbor, and Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing